Friday Two Cents: Toronto Pan Am Games


 

twoCentsOldNew_George

When I heard that Toronto got the Pan Am Games I was one of those people who did not celebrate. I thought it a complete waste of taxpayers’ money and I had no faith in the government institutions to organize and run an athletic competition of this size. In addition when things where suppose to be moving along and getting things done, the infighting amongst the different levels of governments reaffirmed my feelings. Reports of money mismanagement and governments spending taxpayers’ money like there was no tomorrow came out.

 

How Pan Am staff used your tax dollars

Pan Am Perks Aplenty For Officials 

 

Yet after reading all the news about the games and seeing how people, especially the students were looking forward to the games I thought I would keep and open mind. I still had my doubts but I told myself a long time ago that I would not be like many people and judge something of someone before I give it or them a chance.

HOV Lanes First Day of the Toronto Pan AM Games. The Toronto Star 06/29/2015

However, before the games began, it did not start off on a good foot. The government introduced these High Occupancy Vehicle lines on the highways (HOV Lanes) and traffic became heavier not better. Even during the games started I was driving on the highways and I would only see a handful of vehicles using the HOV lanes. If they think that turning 3 lanes of traffic into 2 and one HOV lane is an improvement, then I think that the psychiatric ward is missing a few patients.

Then from the beginning I was not impressed with much of the opening ceremonies. Yet I did see a bit of it on TV but it got boring so I left the room and did some other work. Mind you I did watch the fireworks at the end and thought that it was impressive.

After I waited for the ball to drop and see the chaos, thankfully it did not. I must say that over the past 13 days the events have gone off well and the chaos of traffic headaches did not happen. Yes there were times I could not drive on specific roads because of an event but it was well planned out and the detours were good. Mind you I know the city pretty well and I can navigate the roads at will, but it was not the nightmare that many had predicted.

The one thing that has been a big disappointment is the television coverage of the games by the CBC. In comparison the Vancouver Winter Olympic games aired by CTV, the word that comes to mind is frustrating. I tried looking but I cannot find what or when specific events are being aired. Therefore I decided to indulge in going to an event. I am planning to go to the gold medal game for women’s football (soccer) on Saturday. I was surprised to see that the tickets were not that expensive. $40 CDN for seats, I’ll have to see how good they are when I go to the event tomorrow.

Overall, to be honest, I have to say that the Toronto Pan Am Games 2015 have been a good experience for the city. I for one was very skeptical with the organization and the bureaucracy involved. My many years of working in the system have taught me to be very pessimistic when it comes to the government. Yet I would imagine that when push comes to shove, people will come together for the common good.

Well tomorrow I am looking forward to the gold medal game for women’s football (soccer). There are specific parking areas with shuttle bus service available.   Canada is not playing but I am looking forward to seeing the women’s teams from Columbia and Brazil play. I plan to take a lot of pictures and hopefully even George will be coming along.

Hey! I did say I would be taking him along wherever I go this summer. Didn’t I? I’ll let you all know how it went tomorrow.

George_ticketsPANAM

George with tickets to the Pan Am 2015 Gold Medal Game Women’s Football Brazil vs Columbia.

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Toronto Pan Am Games

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    Maybe I’ll see you tonight. Did you know that the Go Train is free with your ticket and the shuttle buses leave from the station as well. There’s a 3;00 train leaving Toronto. The lines for the shuttle buses going back to the train station weren’t so bad last time but the line-ups for the the parking lots were crazy. Maybe they’ve fixed that problem but that was for the very first game, two weeks ago. Bring your umbrella, it’s suppose to rain.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Maybe we will. 🙂 I didn’t know about the train but I got a parking pass for McMaster parking and there are shuttles from there. Hopefully it will be ok. Oh yes I heard about the weather I’ll bring an umbrella too. Hope to see you there.

Leave a comment

Dram du Jour

A celebration of whisky from an enthusiast

Dram Du Jour

A celebration of whisky from an enthusiast

Ailish Sinclair

Stories and photos from Scotland

doug -- off the record

just a place to share some thoughts

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

lucianacavallaro

Myths are more than stories

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Thinking deeply about education

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gates

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.