Comic Strips: Road of Life


This was the second year I had created the comic strips of the children in the school I work in.  As the previous year I wanted to put them all in a class photo, so to speak, for them all to enjoy.

As with the previous years’ class comic, many parents and children loved the comic and all wanted copies.  I told them all that the school knew I was creating it and requested a copy for the yearbook.  They would be getting a copy at graduation and as last year’s class they all wanted me to sign the comic.  Every time they did so I got choked up.

You see, the special thing about this group was that many of these children were Junior Kindergartens (3 – 4 years old) the year I started at the school.  Two of them I knew when they were 2 years old when I worked with them at a previous child care centre. I saw these kids grow up into fine young adolescents.  I’d almost say I felt that  they where like my own kids.

I saw their trials and triumphs, sad moments and happy ones. Even at their graduation I felt a satisfaction that I had a part, all be it very small part, in shaping these young people.  I felt genuine pride with all of them.

That is where I came up with the “road of life” idea for the comic.  I looked at all the children’s different characters/personalities.  They are all unique and all special.  I was going to miss them all even though I knew that it was the way it is supposed to be.  But it still hurt a little bit.

I just hope that with their time spent with me, that I have touched their lives in some positive way.  That we had created some good memories, they will remember for a lifetime.  I know they touched mine and I am the better for it.

Good luck class and thanks for the memories.

June2012pg10

Dram du Jour

A celebration of whisky from an enthusiast

Dram Du Jour

A celebration of whisky from an enthusiast

Ailish Sinclair

Stories and photos from Scotland

doug -- off the record

just a place to share some thoughts

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

lucianacavallaro

Myths are more than stories

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Thinking deeply about education

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gates

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.