Comic Strips: Road of Life


This was the second year I had created the comic strips of the children in the school I work in.  As the previous year I wanted to put them all in a class photo, so to speak, for them all to enjoy.

As with the previous years’ class comic, many parents and children loved the comic and all wanted copies.  I told them all that the school knew I was creating it and requested a copy for the yearbook.  They would be getting a copy at graduation and as last year’s class they all wanted me to sign the comic.  Every time they did so I got choked up.

You see, the special thing about this group was that many of these children were Junior Kindergartens (3 – 4 years old) the year I started at the school.  Two of them I knew when they were 2 years old when I worked with them at a previous child care centre. I saw these kids grow up into fine young adolescents.  I’d almost say I felt that  they where like my own kids.

I saw their trials and triumphs, sad moments and happy ones. Even at their graduation I felt a satisfaction that I had a part, all be it very small part, in shaping these young people.  I felt genuine pride with all of them.

That is where I came up with the “road of life” idea for the comic.  I looked at all the children’s different characters/personalities.  They are all unique and all special.  I was going to miss them all even though I knew that it was the way it is supposed to be.  But it still hurt a little bit.

I just hope that with their time spent with me, that I have touched their lives in some positive way.  That we had created some good memories, they will remember for a lifetime.  I know they touched mine and I am the better for it.

Good luck class and thanks for the memories.

June2012pg10

One Response to Comic Strips: Road of Life

  1. Pingback: Dilbert comic strip for 02/12/2012 from the official Dilbert comic strips archive. | The Puchi Herald Magazine

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

