Friday Two Cents: Positive Over Negative Behaviour


twoCentsOldNew

 

This week, at times, went by fast and at other times was slow to the point of it being painful. This past week was the March break that so many enjoy. It is a good time to relax and take a break from the rigorous routine of the school year. This break I worked at an afterschool program with the students where we went on field trips to places such as a trampoline park, maple syrup making, nature hike and we even went to Disney on Ice. The trips and the students were enjoyable but there were times when I observed other people’s behavior and I was not too impressed.

I think the worst was when we went to Disney on Ice and where parents and children were there to enjoy the show, just as we were. Yet I observed behavior from the parents that would be seen as unacceptable in any classroom let alone in public. The issue was that we as a group had tickets for the show in a specific area, yet some people decided to sit in the seats and I and a couple of students had to sit in other empty seats to enjoy the show. We then had to leave when the seat holders arrived in the middle of the show. I mentioned to the ushers that our seats were in a specific area with a group but people were in them.
I had to wait in the back with the students until the people finally left but not without a few choice words. I was grateful that the two students continued to enjoy the show and not hear what this parent had to say. In the end we did get or seats and enjoyed the second half of the show.
Though this situation did remind me of a paper I read about behavior and how it is passed on from parents to children. We are not born mean or a racist, it is not in our genetics, but it is something that is learned behavior. Those parents showed inappropriate behavior and their children also observed this. Therefore it is reasonable to deduce that the children will learn for this instance and begin to show this type of behavior in the future.

Children learn how to behave from their parents

I should not be too surprised at this. Through my observations of other people with children, the parent’s beliefs and behavior were passed onto the children, being that the children learned their behavior from their parents, even behavior that is seen as inappropriate or anti-social. It would support the findings in the study on behavior I read.
Yet what can I, and others, in the society do to comfort this rude behavior? The study did mention that to confront negative behavior with positive behavior. I am not talking about becoming Mary Poppins and smile at people or letting others role over us, but not propagating this behavior. Being a positive influence will rube off on others as much as negative.
Therefore what is the lesson today when dealing with these types of people? Be positive and do not let others ruin your good time with their negative attitudes. For me I kept my composure and dealt with the ushers and people in a respectful way and I enjoyed my time at Disney on Ice. You can see a few shots of the show below. That person can complain all they want but it did not ruin my time.
As the Dalai Lama once said …
‘In order to carry a positive action we must develop here a positive vision.’ Dalai Lama
I will continue to develop my positive vision so that my positive action can be carried on by me and hopefully passed on to others around me.

Leave a comment

Dram du Jour

A celebration of whisky from an enthusiast

Dram Du Jour

A celebration of whisky from an enthusiast

Ailish Sinclair

Stories and photos from Scotland

doug -- off the record

just a place to share some thoughts

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

lucianacavallaro

Myths are more than stories

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Thinking deeply about education

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gates

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.