Comic Strips: Who’s On First


With the posting of this latest comic strip, I have caught up with what I currently publish in the school newsletter.  I still have one more to publish but I will do this at the beginning of June.

I usually just create these comic strips for the monthly newsletter, which means I don’t create any in the summer.  But recently people have enjoyed these comics and I will try to create new comics and publish them at the beginning of the month.

Well this comic strip was inspired by the classic stand up routine of Abbott and Costello’s “Who’s on first.”  As many of my friends, co-workers and yes the children too, I love baseball.  I even had the opportunity to go to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY several years ago.   In the hall of fame they showed Abbott and Costello’s “Who’s on first” stand up routine and it brought back memories of when I was a kid and when I first saw it.  I remember laughing and falling in love with the game at an early age.

Of course I got older and stopped playing but I still love the game, even though I strayed away for a while.  Yet, that routine reminds me of what baseball is all about.  Having fun.

That year I showed the children the routine.  When I first showed it I was ready to explain the routine.  But to my joy they got it and asked to see it again on several occasions.

So, every year and at every opportunity I try to show this routine.  You think this comedy routine would be dated but the kids showed me that it is in fact timeless.  To quote a famous speech I think puts it better than I can.

‘The one constant through all the years, has been baseball. North America has rolled by like an army of steamrollers. It has been erased like a blackboard, rebuilt and erased again. But baseball has marked the time. This game: it’s a part of our past. It reminds us of all that once was good and it could be again.’  Quote from Field of Dreams Terence Mann: (James Earl Jones)

Memories of what was good and could be again, just from the simple words of “Who’s on First.

May2013NL04

One Response to Comic Strips: Who’s On First

  1. Pingback: The Funnicks #170: Stop it, Leroy! | Gsting The Art

Leave a comment

Dram du Jour

A celebration of whisky from an enthusiast

Dram Du Jour

A celebration of whisky from an enthusiast

Ailish Sinclair

Stories and photos from Scotland

doug -- off the record

just a place to share some thoughts

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

lucianacavallaro

Myths are more than stories

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Thinking deeply about education

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gates

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.