Friday Two Cents: Here’s To The Next Chapter


 

In Canada, this was the last week of school for many students. I have worked in a few schools during the last week of school but never as a teacher of a class. To say it was exhausting would not accurately describe the feeling. Physically yes, I had to do a lot of cleaning and get the room ready for the next teacher for the following year, yet there was a bit more this year.

Perhaps it was because I am the teacher and not the early childhood educator (ECE). There was more responsibility for both programing and duties as a teacher. Duties such as getting the report cards out, doing the final bit of paper work, talking to parents on different issues on top of getting things organized like cleaning toys and preparing supplies. Yet I also think that this coming school year has a big change in store for me.
At the school I usually work in I started as an ECE in the after school program. During my time, I worked hard in school and received my undergrad and bachelors of Education within three years while I worked at the program. At the same time I worked as a supply ECE and recently I finally got onto the occasional teaching list.   A lot of changes over the past five years. Yet this year I decided to leave the after-school program and focus all my efforts on my teaching career. I have been working there for about 10 years and I know the staff very well and consider them friends. And for the first time in a while the future seems less and more clear at the same time.
I decided this course of action some time ago and I know it is the right move for me, however today when I handed in my pass card and key it hit me, this is it. No more after-school, no more drawing club, newsletter, Christmas play, baseball program, no more clubs and programs I began. They are now the responsibility of others. Even some of the students asked me, “If you are going who will teach me baseball?” I said with a smile, “Don’t worry.  There will be another teacher to teach you that.” And as I said it I began to believe it too. Yes I began these programs but they are not mine, they belong to the students who enjoy them and another teacher can come by and do them and improve them.
I think that is what truly made me feel exhausted on the last day of my time there. Knowing that there will be some big changes for me in the coming school year. Yet when I look forward into the fog of uncertainty, a light from a lighthouse beams through the fog reminding me that there is a glimmer of the positive. Yes I am leaving but I am still an occasional teacher and I can go back to that school to supply teach. 
I have heard a recurring theme these past few weeks, “Here’s to the next chapter.” both from the students graduating and from other teachers retiring. This is not an end but the beginning of a new and exciting chapter of their lives.   Yes, this is just a new and exciting chapter in my life too. I have to think positive and just keep “my eye on the ball”, go for my goal. For the future may be uncertain, but it is filled with wondrous possibilities.

 

Here’s To The Next Chapter

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

4 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Here’s To The Next Chapter

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    Good luck Paul. I had no idea that you were giving up the after school program. Hopefully you’ll be really busy with long term occasional teaching positions. I’ll keep checking up on you to see what you’re up to.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thank you. From your lips to God’s ears. I will be here and I will see what new and exciting things you will be doing too.

  2. You’re going to shine wherever you land next year. Here’s to a great summer and new adventures on the horizon!

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thank you!! Yes here’s to a great summer and new adventures.

      Full canvas!! And set your course … second star to the right, then straight on till morning!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

