Friday Two Cents: Expanding On My Why


 

twoCentsOldNew

Since my exploration last week of what makes me a teacher, I have been thinking of nothing else.   The question is not a matter of education or certification, I have those, I have the “what”. The question is “how” and “why” am I different from all the other teachers out there. How am I unique? And more difficultly to answer why do I want to teach? Yes I know I have the passion of wanting to teach but I want a more specific reason. Call it a matter of self-reflection and self-improvement. After several days and discussing it with a few colleagues I think I may be on to some specifics.

The how comes from my style of playing with the students. Building relationships with them, gaining their trust. Through interacting with them, through play I get to know them and they can get to know me. A quote from Plato came to mind;‘You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.’  I firmly believe this. I cannot tell you how many times I sat down on the carpet with a group of kindergarten children and simply played with them. Or when I participate in a game of dodge ball or hockey with the older grades. The students will come to me after and ask different things of me. I built trust with them and from that trust I then can help them.
However the central question comes back to why. Why do I want to be a teacher? If you think about it, its my thesis statement. Therefore I looked at from that point of view. The word that come to mind as a central point of my philosophy, is the word inspire. So what is the definition of inspire?
inspire-concept
Inspire – ‘verb – Fill (someone) with the urge or ability to do or feel something, especially to do something creative.)(English Oxford Dictionary). With this in mind I came up with this statement for my why.

 

 

 

 

why

Why – I want to inspire my students to have the freedom to use their imagination, take risks, make mistakes and to be the best them they can be.

 

 

 

I know its only a beginning but like that quote from the author William Barclay;

 

‘There are two great days in a person’s life – the day we are born and the day we discover why.’ William Barclay

Today is a great day.

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Expanding On My Why

  1. sweetzshwetz says:

    Ur words are so perfectly matching with all that u wish to convey☺
    You must be a great teacher

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thank you. To be good at anything you must practice and reevaluate your efforts. I do not claim to be a great teacher I just try and help the students have the freedom to be themselves. I forget it sometimes so I have to remind myself why I am doing what I do. I just have to remember that they are the ones that inspire me to be a teacher.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

