Friday Two Cents: I Found My Why


 

twoCentsOldNew

This past week I have been looking into myself, to do a lot of self-reflecting and a constant question that kept coming back was, ‘Why do I do what I do?’ You see I am a certified teacher and I have been looking for a teaching position for about a year and a half. I have been to a few interviews and I have been told, by a school board, that I am on the list to get onto the occasional teaching list but nothing has happened. I have not been able to get a straight answer from them and I have been questioning why I should be part of an organization that puts little value into new ideas or people. That is why I have been looking to other school boards to see if I can find a fit.

Yet many of the school boards have the same beliefs as many others. They want to support the students, help them grow, fulfil their potential, etc. But what makes one different from the other. Then I started to think that it was not the boards but myself that is different. What do I offer? How do I teach or connect to people? Why do I want to teach? Then this idea of why kept coming back to me. Why? Why should I continue with this field? Why do I want to teach? Why am I doing all this? Why do I do what I do?

 

The Golden Circle

The Golden Circle

I continued to reflect about this question of why when I remembered about an idea that Simon Sinek talked about, he calls it ‘The Golden Circle’. It has three circles within one another; what is the outside circle, how is the middle and why is at the centre. He talked about how many companies and people do things starting from the outside in, where the real innovative companies and people start from the inside out. This started me thinking, so I broke it down.

 

What   – what is it you do? What is it you want to do?

How    – how do you do it? How do you do what you do?

Why    – what is your purpose, what is your cause?

 

The first two were easy to figure out; what – I am a teacher; how – I have a different teaching style than many. I teach through play, through interacting with students. Yet why was a bit more difficult to pin point. Then it hit me while I was preparing a permission form for a drawing club I would be offering.
I started thinking about why was I doing this club. Its extra work, and I have to prepare many different things on top of my regular responsibilities. So why I do it? Then it hit me, art is my passion; I love it. Creating something from nothing brings me joy beyond compare. Then I found my WHY; teaching is my passion, my cause is helping others discover something new. That’s my WHY.
Yet that is only the beginning. Now that I have discovered this why, I have to put things into practice. I need to present myself from the centre circle out. I need to start with my why. I know it won’t be easy putting it into practice; it is a matter of disciple and courage.   But at least I found my why, and that’s a good start.
Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

