Art inspiration: My Nativity Project, My Heritage


 

ArtInspirationPaulGLogo

In the last post I mentioned that I finished creating my nativity scene for the outside of my home. In total it took about 3 weeks of work to finish the project but I am more than happy with the final results.

After drawing the images onto the primed piece of wood I began the process of painting the characters. Just like any art project I thought of layers and what colours would be in the back and which ones in front. I began painting them with their main colour and the background. Painting this scene I constantly remembered the amazing frescos that Michelangelo painted. I wondered what he thought of as he painted those amazing scenes and I could not be more humbled and inspired to do my best as I painted my scene using his technique.
In the middle of my painting I created the top part of the scene with the remainder of the wood. The top part would be modeled on images of buildings from Jerusalem and places I saw in Malta on my numerous visits. I measured, cut and primed the piece as I did with the lower part/stable. Once dry I painted it the same colour as the background of the stable. I added a few details to make it my realistic such as cracks and brickwork to make it look old and weathered.
The top of the stable was relatively easy to paint in comparison to the lower piece with the characters. For obvious reasons it required extra care and more details. In the final stage you can see that I added homes and buildings, which were indicative of the Bethlehem area, in the background of the lower piece of the stable.
Once I finished painting the characters I then attached the upper piece of the stable to the lower part. I used left over wood as reinforcement with wood screws to attach the pieces together. I then attached a 2”x4” to the lower piece as a stabilizer so it can stand with some support. Once attached, I gave the entire nativity scene a coat of clear varnish to help protect the painting from the elements.
With all this complete I finally mounted the finish nativity scene onto my veranda. The interesting thing is that once it was up my family commented that in Malta the nativity scene is the centre of our Christmas celebrations and not the Christmas tree as it is in most of North America.
Here I am in Canada and I do have a tree but I have always had a nativity scene in my home. Christmas is not Christmas without a nativity scene. Now that I have one outside I feel more connected to my cultural heritage than before. Perhaps it has something to do with my visit to Québec this summer. There I felt connected to the culture both through my knowledge as well through the people I interacted with. I saw first hand the importance and beauty Canadian and Québec culture has to offer. I discovered that this is apart of my Canadian heritage but I also have my Maltese heritage that my parents gave me. The two are not separate but intertwined within the country I live in and within me.
One Response to Art inspiration: My Nativity Project, My Heritage

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    Very nice!

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

