Friday Two Cents: Some Alone Time Please


 

twoCentsOldNew

 

‘Never having alone time is real tough on people’. Yakov Smirnoff

‘I tend to stay up late, not because I’m partying but because it’s the only time of the day when I’m alone.’ Jim Carrey

 

Last week’s post touched on the idea of respect. I saw the students showing a lack of respect to their peers as we tried to practice our play. This was a monthly virtue for the month of September yet it seems that not only the students are having a difficult time with respect but adults too.

Outside the school environment I have begun to notice a lack of respect for others. From people cutting off others while driving, a lack of social manners when I open the door for people and even from a person I know and called friend. I am not sure if it’s me and that I am overly sensitive to what people say or do, however I have come to my wit’s end with people not respecting my privacy and what I do in my personal time. Simply put, respect my desire to spend some time alone.

It is not as if I do not wish to be with people, far from it, it’s just that I need some personal time to myself to recharge my batteries.   Yet many people simply dismiss this idea as being antisocial or see it as something alien as having green skin. I feel that they are not taking my feelings to be important, only theirs are.
Perhaps it is a product of our society or the fact that I live in a large city. People expect me to always be with someone. But maybe that is the reason I need to have some alone time because there are so many people in my life. I teach, work and interact with at least 100+ people in one day and to be honest, it can be exhausting; both mentally and physically. I look forward to the time I have alone, to do something I truly enjoy such as read, write, create some art or just to watch a movie.
So to all those people out there who do not understand the value of alone time; you don’t have to understand it, just respect it if someone asks for it. And to those of you who are like me and value your alone time, enjoy it and protect it. Sometimes you need to spend some quality time with the most important person in your life. You.
Alone time Quote - Oprah

Alone time Quote – Oprah

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Some Alone Time Please

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    I hear you Paul. I enjoy my alone time at the cottage and at home I get so much more done late at night when all have gone to bed. I’m more creative, more productive and like you it recharges me and prepares me for a new day.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thank you. It is good to hear that there are others like me who do enjoy and understand that we all need some alone time. I do stay up late and that is my creative time too. Its like the whole world is silent and I can finally hear my own voice.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

