Friday Two Cents: The Trill Of The Hunt


twoCentsOldNew

All around the world there are specific sports that people grow up with. In Europe its football/soccer, India cricket, Japan and USA baseball. Yet if you are from what I call the best place to live, Canada, its hockey. Hockey is in the lifeblood of this country. Everyone has either seen a game or has played it as a child. I grew up playing it on ponds, at city parks, in school and in leagues. I love hockey but there is one aspect of this game that many may not know about; collecting and trading hockey cards.

Tim Hortons Trading Cards 2016 - #1 Tim Horton

Tim Hortons Trading Cards 2016 – #1 Tim Horton

Ever since I went out and bought my first pack of hockey cards, I loved collecting them. Now as an adult I continue to partake in this tradition of mine by collecting the Upper Deck hockey cards sold at Tim Hortons. I am trying not to go too crazy when buying cards so I have limited myself to getting only one pack every time I purchase a coffee (two a day). It is a slow process collecting the over 100 regular set, 30 extra set and 25 extremely difficult set cards.
This would be very difficult, however these are trading cards and I would trade cards with people to try to get my set. As a child I traded cards with people at my school and class, this way I can get the set faster. The students at the school I work in are also into getting trading cards and they have come up to me and want to trade. I am very fair with them and I even give them a card or two extra, just because they are kids and I want to make the experience an enjoyable one. I look back at my time trading cards as a fun part of my childhood and now collecting these cards brings back many happy memories.
Tim Hortons Trading Cards 2016 - #87 Sidney Crosby

Tim Hortons Trading Cards 2016 – #87 Sidney Crosby

Those memories were enhanced when I discovered that a local Tim Hortons had set up a trading night for people who collect the cards. People can come into the store and talk and trade with others to try to get the set a little bit faster. I met a lot of people, men, women and fathers with their sons who are collecting and trading hockey cards. These people are no different than me, who just want to have a little fun collecting the cards. Some had stories from their own childhood about collecting cards and how they are passing that tradition onto their children. It was an amazing night of shared experiences and meeting people.
People asked me why I collect the cards. I told them that I love to collect them, to place them in a booklet and check off which ones I have and which cards I need. It reminds me of when I was a kid, with the trill of the hunt of looking for that specific card that will fill your set. To meet other people who are like me, who enjoy the hunt and exultation of finding that elusive card. I’ve almost gotten the set but I have discovered that getting the set is great but the true joy is in the act of gathering or collecting the cards. Like I have said before …
Tim Hortons Trading Cards 2016 - Specialty Card Jonathan Toews

Tim Hortons Trading Cards 2016 – Specialty Card Jonathan Toews

“The adventure is the journey not the destination.” Paul Gauchi (Me)

The journey, the hunt to collect these cards is half the fun. I guess I truly enjoy, the trill of the hunt.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

