Friday Two Cents: Summer Vacation Part 3: I Love Working With My Hands


twoCentsOldNew

 

This past week there was no driving off to some place for a show, an interview or some new and exciting place. I simply stayed home and did a couple of things around the house that needed my attention and a few experiments I was hoping to do.

First off I had to refinish my deck. I built it about 15 years ago but occasionally it needs to be cleaned and refinished because of the harsh Canadian weather. Instead of getting chemical cleaner I decided to sand down the deck before refinishing it. It is a lot more work and a bit time-consuming. That took a day to do it (thank goodness I have a sander) but I have the time. The next day I brushed off the extra dust and applied a waterproof stain with a paintbrush. Again it took some time, however thank goodness I did this all before the heat wave that is now consuming southern Ontario. I still need to apply a second coat but it looks good and they advised me to wait between coats. Therefore I will do it next week. Besides with the intense heat, it would not be a good idea to do the second coat. The paint would not adhere and it would not be healthy for me to be out in the heat for over 3 hours applying it. You can see the before and after effects.
With that out of the way, I was able to indulge in an experience I was hoping to do. Or in other words cook. I wanted to try a few recipes I was interested in. I made some chilly, jambalaya, guacamole and a few others. They all turned really well, as my family of taste testers would adhere to.
It is interesting that even though I am on vacation and I stayed home, I truly enjoyed myself this week. It wasn’t because I did nothing and just lay around the house. I was able to get things done and the best part was I enjoyed working with my hands. I loved sanding the wood and painting it with a brush. I loved chopping the vegetables and spices to make the dishes. I felt alive touching all these different things and textures.
Many people have told me that I am good with my hands. I guess it helps that I also love using them too.
One Response to Friday Two Cents: Summer Vacation Part 3: I Love Working With My Hands

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    Any chance you want to come over and put a finish on my deck?:)

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

