Friday Two Cents: Using Statistics To Help Teach


twoCentsOldNew

 

The week before the end of the school year is a crazy time. Teachers getting report cards ready, children doing last-minute assignments, end of the year concerts and so on. Everything is coming to ahead for the end of school and the beginning of summer break. With everything else the softball and t-ball leagues I run at the school, are all wrapping up and I have only one more game left to play.

I finished the T-Ball season with the championship game this week. The T-ball league is for students from the grades kindergarten to grade 2. It was a fun-filled game with all the students enjoying themselves while trying to capture the T-ball Championship. In the end it came down to the closest game of the season. The two teams, Monkeys verse Chipmunks, played their hearts out, but the Chipmunks prevailed defeating last year’s Champion the Monkeys. The final score was Chipmunks 29, Monkeys 28. A nail biter, right to the end.
T-Ball Championship Game: Monkeys vs Chipmunks

T-Ball Championship Game: Monkeys vs Chipmunks

This following week the older students will be playing their championship game on Tuesday, with both teams looking forward to the final game. The two teams, the Bears and Dolphins both came to the finals on two different paths. The Bears were in first place from the first week and never looked back finishing the round robin with a 5 win and 1 lose record. The Dolphins on the other hand started in the bottom losing their first two games, scoring a total of 3 runs for both games and having a run scoring percentage of 20%. But they rallied back and finished the round robin and even 3 wins and 3 loses. Yet the amazing thing is that they ended up finishing first in runs scored with 60 and having the highest run scoring percentage at 61.2%. How do I know this? I keep statistics for the league.
Yes I keep statistics on the children. They are not that detailed, just on-base percentage (OBP), numbers and types of hits and runs batted in. The beauty of it all is that the students keep the score and I enter the numbers into the computer to get the stats. At the beginning of training camp I would teach every child how to keep score on the score sheet and the teams would do so. They are very enthusiastic and do a great job. Many would think that keeping stats would be detrimental to the children; on the contrary, it encourages them and helps them with their self-esteem. On more than one occasion I would see students looking at the weekly stats and telling others what their numbers are. The children all look forward to them and it is also a great teaching tool.
You might not think it but it truly is. Many children would ask me how I come up with the stats and then I would explain that it is all simple math.   They all look at me in astonishment and then I would show them on the board how simple and useful math can be. One example is how to get their OBP. I would take the number of times they would get on base (OB) and divide by the number of at bats (AB). Then this would give me the percentage of how many times they get on base.

 OB / AB = OBP –> (10) / (12) = .917 –> .917 * 100 = 91.7%   OBP is .917 or 91.7%

 Strictly speaking, I just taught them that math is a part of a game that they enjoy.
Yet I also discovered another benefit of the statistics for the students. Part of the program is to develop leadership for the older students and teamwork for everyone playing. The captains and assistants are given responsibilities, one of them is creating their lineups and player positioning for the games. I noticed the captains and assistants would use the statistics when they are creating their lineups. They told me they would place players in a specific way to help score more runs and position where their pitchers would pitch.
That’s what I love about baseball. You can learn to play the game and yet once you do you can learn something new about it. For the children, without even knowing about it, they learned math, strategic planning and social skills outside the classroom.  
Oh one other question the students kept asking me. ‘Who is going to win the Championship Game?’ I answered with ‘Who do you think will win?’ Many looked at the stats and gave me their predictions. Even teachers have given me their predictions after looking at the statistics.
I’m curious who you think will win based on the stats. The two teams playing in the championship game are the Bears vs. Dolphins with the Bears having home field advantage. Below are the stats and a poll. Let me know and I will let you know after the game Tuesday who the winner is and if your predictions were in line with the children’s.

Stats2016wk07-2

 

Stats2016wk07 copy pg03

 

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

