Friday Two Cents: Perseverance And Confidence In Myself


 

twoCentsOldNew

Perseverance – Noun: steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state, etc., especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement.

This past I learned an important lesson; perseverance and to be confident in myself.   It has been nearly a year after I graduated from teacher’s college and it has been a difficult time trying to find a teaching position. I have been fortunate to be working as a supply early childhood educator (ECE) for the school board but I would like to work as an elementary teacher. To that end I have been sending out resumes and trying to apply for teaching positions wherever I see a posting.

I also applied to different school boards and have gotten a few interviews. Yet the most difficult part has been waiting for a response. A couple have not been too encouraging due to the distance I would need to travel to work. The difficulty would be moving to a new city for perhaps twos days of work a week. A bit problematic to say the least.
In the past couple of weeks I have begun to feel a bit disheartened by the lack of opportunities. Even though I have a job as a supply ECE, I want to continue to grow and improve myself and gain experience as a teacher. Yet with the waiting and a couple of set backs, I had moments where I lost faith in many things and I began questioning my own abilities. But those moments were brief and in the end I looked within myself and said, “Stay the course.” So I tried to put aside my doubts and focused on other things.
Recommendation Letter

Recommendation Letter

This past week my self-doubt’s came to an end when I received a letter saying that I was recommended for a position on the supply teacher list in the school board. To be honest I did not jump up and down or scream out for joy. I just sat down and read the letter twice before it sank in and even them it did not seem real. I brought into the school I work in and asked the administrators if this means that I have the job. They smiled and said yes, that is when I felt all the doubts and second thought melt away. Yet I still did not see the need to tell everyone about it. I knew that there were other people trying to get a job too and I did not want to show excessive pride in my accomplishments or hubris, to spare their feelings.

 

But in the end I am tremendously happy that I have entered the next chapter on this long journey. I would imagine I need to keep in mind the words spoken my Marie Curie …

 

‘Life is not easy for any of us. But what of that? We must have perseverance and above all confidence in ourselves. We must believe that we are gifted for something and that this thing must be attained.’      Marie Curie

 

I know that I am meant to teach and that I can obtain that goal. I just need to remember to have perseverance but above all, confidence in myself.

perseverance

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Perseverance And Confidence In Myself

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    Congratulations Paul. I hope that means you’ll be at our school as a supply teacher. You already feel like a part of the staff but I know that this will mean more money for you and another step closer to getting a permanent job.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Thank You. I am not sure when it is official, but i hope that i can start soon.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

