Friday Two Cents: These Memories Are What Is Truly Important


twoCentsOldNew

 

This past week I was talking to a few colleagues about Easter and what we all have played for this long weekend when the topic of the why Easter is always on a different date came up. This year it is on March 27 much earlier than most years, so I piped in and explained why.

Easter: the first Sunday after the first full moon of Spring.

I told them that I discovered that Easter is taken from the pagan rituals around spring or the rebirth of the earth after the winter. The set of calculations are complicated but it all makes sense. Easter is the first Sunday, after the first full moon, after the first day of spring or vernal equinox. The vernal equinox this year was on March 20th, and the first full moon after this date was on March 23rd, therefore Easter will then fall on the first Sunday after this date, which is March 27th.
This symbolizes the rebirth of the earth after winter, which correlates with the resurrection in Christianity. Pagans would celebrate the rebirth of living things as a sign of the earth being reborn or resurrected after the death brought on by winter.
A few knew about this set of conditions but others were surprised that the Easter celebration came from a pagan ritual. I explained that in the early church around the time of Constantine, he and many others in the church wanted to make the transition to Christianity much easier for many in the Roman Empire. They probably thought that placing the Easter celebration to correlate with the rebirth or resurrection of the earth celebration would help to convert and make the transition easier for the pagans in the empire.
As well, the pagans would use symbols like the egg as a symbol of life or birth. The bunnies were seen as signs of fertility, birth and life. We all know that rabbits are very fertile. Therefore, these symbols were adopted by the early Christians for the Easter celebration.
Many staff were surprised by this information as many others I have told in the past. Many would then ask why would I believe what Christianity preaches if I know they come from paganism. My answer is every religion comes from some other belief structure, pagan or other wise. What I belief has nothing to do with the dates or celebrations of my faith. The date of Easter may not have been the same as when Jesus died but I believe he died for us and was resurrected to give us hope.
I tell people that knowing where these rituals and traditions come from does not deter me from my faith but are simply dates that help me to remember my faith and keep these traditions alive. You see I have learned that keeping traditions alive help to ground us in our daily lives. I learned this thanks to my little nieces. They enjoy celebrations and traditions such as Easter, Christmas and yes even their birthdays and this helps to build memories with them that will last a lifetime. In the end those memories are what is truly important.

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

