Friday Two Cents: Playing Dodge Ball


twoCentsOldNew

‘Youth has no age.’ Pablo Picasso

 

This past week we had a rain day at the school. If you don’t remember those days, its raining so you stay inside and just chill for 15 minutes reading, playing cards, playing boards games like chess and other non physical games. Well this day was like many others and the students where the same. Restless. Even I have to admit I too was a bit restless.

Well I told my partner that because we are probably not going outside with the students in the afterschool, that it was best to let them have a very physical game in the gym, for about an hour. Many of the students enjoy one particular game that we haven’t played in about 4 months. It is called “War”. An all out, no holds barred game of dodge ball with no end in sight for about hour, if at all.

Dodge Ball

The game is played this way. You divide the students into two teams on either side of the gym. You pick two scouts (they wear red pinys) and you give them two folding mats that they setup on the their side as forts, and pylons to mark two jails on either side. The object of the game is to knock down the forts or get everyone out. We use foam balls so as to minimise the amount of injuries. Also the scouts are allowed to cross the centre line and enter the enemies’ territory and get people out or knock down the forts. If the ball hits you, you have to go to jail. However ever so often I call out jailbreak and everyone is free again. This way the game can go on for a very long time.

Watch out!!

We played this game and the students loved it. I also add music (from Star Wars) to help enhance the game experience. I too got into the game and threw the ball around and was having a lot of fun. Some parents and teachers commented that maybe I was having too much fun. I guess they where hinting that I should probably act my age. But then I remember hearing about how dodge ball can help us live longer. It has something to do with the quick reflexes required to play the game. Research shows that the more you work on increasing your reaction time you actually increase your likely hood of living longer. They say that there is a correlation between slow reflexes and dying sooner.
There you have it. I guess I’ll be living longer than other people because I am working on my reflexes with the students. I have always said it, that you are as old as you feel not your age. I guess that means I am allowed to continue playing with the students because I feel young at heart whenever I play with them.
Here’s to acting as young as I feel, because just like what Pablo Picasso said “Youth has no age.”

You’re as old as you feel.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

