Friday Two Cents: Acting My Age And Having A Blast


 

twoCentsOldNew

This past week I had my birthday. Unlike many people I celebrate my birthday once every four years. Yes I am a Leap Year baby or Leaper. I mentioned in last weeks post that I was not that excited about my birthday this year. Not because I am getting older or that I am feeling melancholy, it’s just that I wanted to do something low-key, private. I guess that I believe that everyday is a celebration, to live every moment. Yet I have come to understand that these celebrations are for other people to have some fun. It’s like an excuse to be a little silly and make others laugh and just have some fun.

So on February 29, 2016 I had my birthday and I embraced the birthday salutations others gave me and I had some fun with it too. The students in a couple of classes gave me birthday cards that they made and I joked to them saying that I was the biggest kid in the school. Teachers and parents wished me a happy birthday and I joked saying that I am as old as the kids and that probably explains my behaviour, most of the time. I also went around the schoolyard playing with the students and tapping on the kindergarten windows to bother the kindergarteners. Just like some of the older children do. I even participated in some Jedi vs. Sith foam noodle battles with the students. Of course I was a Sith Master (I had red noodles) and I won every battle. I told the students to call me Darth Paul.

Thinking about that day, I acted my age. I ran around teasing people making jokes and playing with other kids and it was a lot of fun. Maybe every adult should do this once in a while. You know, get in touch with their inner child and let loose. I have the advantage because I am a teacher and I work with children all the time. But just like that day I think we all need a day to set aside the responsibilities of being an adult and just be a kid. Take it from my experience; you’ll have a blast.

IMG_3897

The Kindergarten classes made my wonderful birthday cards.

IMG_3842

Jedi vs. Sith foam noodle battles.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

