Friday Two Cents: Building Many Happy Memories With A Dragon’s Head


 

twoCentsOldNew

Happy Chinese New Year and welcome to the year of the monkey. This week many people celebrated the arrival of the new lunar year and in the Chinese culture the start of the year of the monkey. This year’s celebration was a bit more memorable for me.

At the end of the 2015 school year, I was asked to fix a dragon’s head I made for a dragon dance several years ago. The head was passed onto the grade two teachers in the school I work in to help educate the students about different celebrations around the world, specifically Chinese New Year.   It took a long time but I finished it at the end of November last year. I brought it into the school and gave it to the grade 2 teacher. I said I would try to help her and the school with the celebration in the New Year if I could.
Well the New Year arrived and I was fortunate to be available to help her and the school with the celebration. I arrived and the teacher told me that we would be having a parade throughout the school. The students had done activities leading up to this day and they all brought in noisemakers for the parade. She asked me to carry the dragon’s head and I suggested that we add a blanket or table-cloth to the back of the head to be the dragon’s body. She thought it was a great idea and I found a red tablecloth and attached it to the back of the head. This way it would more like a dragon used during the Chinese New Year celebrations.
Then it came time for the parade and the students were very excited. I have to admit that I too was excited. I wanted to see if the rest of the school would like the dragon’s head as much as the grade 2 class. Well I got underneath the cloth and lifted the head, several students went under the cloth as well and took their positions and held up the cloth to be the dragon’s body. The teacher said it looked good and I too saw a reflection and was gratified that the dragon did look good. We began the parade and I made sure to bob the head up and down and from side to side to try to bring the dragon alive for the students.
We made our way through the halls and into classes and looking at the students’ facial reactions to the dragon. I have to admit that I could tell that they enjoyed the parade and the dragon immensely. After the parade my arms were sore but the students’ reactions and the grade two’s questions really made me feel great. The entire experience was amazing and that it was something that they liked and hopefully will remember for years to come.
If you want to see the past posts on how I rebuilt the dragon’s head, I have provided the links to the posts below as well as some photos from the parade. It was a lot of work, yet with this week’s celebration I am truly gratified that it will be used to build many happy memories with the students’ for year to come. Knowing this makes all the hard work I put into building and rebuilding the dragon’s head, all worth it.

 

Art Inspiration: Dragon’s Head Reconstruction, Stage 1

Art Inspiration: Dragon’s Head Reconstruction, Stage 2

Art Inspiration: Dragon’s Head Reconstruction, Stage 3

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

