Friday Two Cents: A Happier Life


twoCentsOldNew

For the Past two months I have been listening to this great radio show on a local radio station called “The John Tesh Show: Intelligence for Life”. During that time I have listened to these helpful tips to improve and live a happy life. They have helpful tips on health, relationships and even financial matters.

I have been listening all this time and I think that it is a wonderful resource for anyone wanting to live a happier life. What I like about it is that they have positive information for anyone to use. I learned a few things about relating with children and improving relationships with people form some of their helpful tips.
One of the helpful tips I learned was if you want to be more creative try looking at something green. A study in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology looked at how color affects our ability to think creatively. A psychologist Dr. Stephanie Lichtenfeld gave volunteers two minutes to think of all the possible uses for a tin can. Before they began, half looked at a green rectangle.  The other half looked at a white rectangle. Afterwards, each idea was rated for its creativity and cleverness. The result: The people who saw green produced more creative ideas than those who saw white.
The researchers then repeated the test replacing the white card for grey, red or blue; green still won every time. The researchers think the color green sparks creativity because it’s associated with growth. Especially since researchers picked a green that matched plants growing in a meadow. Yet they continued to say that if you want to really get your creative juices flowing, go outside and experience nature firsthand.
In a University of Michigan study, it found people who went for a walk in nature were better able to generate new ideas and come up with solutions to complex problems. That’s compared to people who took a walk inside their workplace, or at a gym.

Interesting. Think Green. 

To help inspire others, I saw this posting and I thought I would share it with you. It’s “10 tips for A Happier Life.” Many of these tips seem like common sense but even I was a little surprised at a few of them.

Here’s to a Happier Life

10Tips _forHappyLife

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: A Happier Life

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    Great tips. I think I practise about half of them now but I need to drink more water and definitely go to sleep when I’m tired.

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      Same here. I defiantly could bring more water too but I try and sleep more but after 6 hours i’m wide a wake. The fresh air was a surprise to me though I have noticed that I do feel better once i am outside with the students.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

