Friday Two Cents: All Aboard


twoCentsOldNew

 

This week has officially begun the Christmas season, for me at least. It wasn’t just one thing that did it for me but a few. It began with my nieces helping me to put up the Christmas tree and nativity scene. Then the next day I put up the outdoor Christmas lights. Yet there was a bit more to come.

christmas01

Christmas Lights

christmas02

Nativity Scene

On Monday I went to the school to assemble the Christmas town and train I built out of plaster and porcelain houses. I say I built it because I hand painted every building, hill and some smaller details added to the village, even some of the train cars. I also carved and created a few of the building too. The entire town took about 10 years to put together with every year I would add new pieces to it. I now have over 50 buildings and a train that can cover an area about 2 m2. For the past few years I would set it up within the school and the staff and students always say they look forward to the town every Christmas.
Yet after I set up the village I experienced a new Christmas tradition, The Canadian Pacific Holiday Train. It travels across Canada and the United States, raising awareness about donating to your local food bank. It is a train decorated with Christmas lights and they have a performer playing at different stops along the way. This year it stopped in Toronto near were I live and I was fortunate to remember that it was arriving Monday night.
The Christmas tree, lights, the Christmas town and this year the Canadian Pacific Holiday Train. The Christmas season has begun with a loud bang or should I say a train whistle. Those of you who are feeling the season has begun as I have, I say “ALL ABOARD!!! THE NEXT STOP!!! THE NORTH POLE!!!”
Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

