Friday Two Cents: Any Fool Can Know. The Point Is To Understand


 

twoCentsOldNew

This week began with me supplying in a new kindergarten class at a new school. The teachers and the students where amazing and the school is a wonderful place to be, yet the school is not what I want to reflect on this week but an assembly on Monday. The entire school went to the gym for an assembly that features a dance performance by a group of aboriginal dancers.

They were invited to the school to introduce the students to aboriginal culture and dance. They were very good doing both contemporary dance as well as traditional dance. The other good thing they did was explain why they danced the way that they did. One example was why t they must step softly on mother earth as to not hurt her.

 

Here is the website to the dance theatre if you are interested.  http://kahawidance.org

I also went to other schools these past weeks and noticed that there are other things that are present that has to do with aboriginal culture. I now that the month of November has been Aboriginal Education Month for the Toronto District School Board but all this has brought a thought to my mind about what I have noticed. When has aboriginal awareness and emphasis on the culture, all of a sudden become so popular/important? Why is this happening and what is the purpose, beyond educating the public?

You see I noticed it around the time of my graduation from teacher’s college, when at the York University ceremonies they announced that the celebration is being held on aboriginal ancestral lands (they mentioned the tribe as well). Also during Canada’s Canada Day celebrations where they also mentioned the celebration being held on local tribes ancestral lands too. Then as well at other celebrations or public events in Ottawa during my trip and most recently, during the swearing-in ceremonies of the new Canadian government.

I ask these questions not because I am against all of this but from a healthy curiosity. I know that the grade 3 curriculum, for social studies, has to deal with aboriginal culture as well as the grade 6 social studies curriculum. Is there a new initiative, for people to be aware more of the aboriginal culture in Canada? Is there a new treaty or agreement with the government about this or is it because of the growing concern of aboriginal culture fading from Canada? I am genuinely curious.

In my experience there is always a motivating factor that makes things happen and I am curious as to why this new awareness is happening. If you know something I encourage you to please leave a comment and help me gather as much information as I can.

Just as a famous person once said;

“Any fool can know. The point is to understand.”Albert Einstein

379aa17

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

