Art Inspiration: Dragon’s Head Reconstruction, Stage 2


ArtInspirationPaulGLogo

 

Several years ago I was asked by the after school teachers to create a dragon head for a Christmas pageant. In the show we were celebrating different celebrations around the world around Christmas time. One of then was a dragon dance from China, which is why they needed a dragon’s head.

In the end it was a great creation and the students and teachers enjoyed it very much. Yet after the performance we did not need the head any more and I was about to through it out. But a teacher asked if she could have it for a lesson on Chinese New Year so I said sure she could have it. Every year after she brought it out for the class and the school to help celebrate Chinese New Year.
But the ravages of time are ever-present and the head began to come into disrepair and in the past year the jaw finally fell off. To be honest I made the head within a month and did not expect it to last a year let alone over 6 or 7. So when a teacher asked if I could fix up the head, I was more than happy to fix it.

 Stage 2

 

After I papier-mâché the entire head I had to let it dry, usually 1 – 2 days. I used a lot of papier-mâché and I wanted it to dry completely. Otherwise it may fall apart prematurely; therefore I let it dry for about 3 days.

Once dry, I wanted to spray paint it grey to cover up the newspaper. Unfortunately the paint can was a bit old and the nozzle “blew-up”, for want of a better word, in my hands. My hands were covered in grey paint and so was my garage floor. There was some on the dragon head but I decided to proceed with just painting the dragon head with the main colour.

Adding details to the Dragonhead

Adding details to the Dragon head

I wanted to paint it red because red is considered a lucky or fortunate colour in the Chinese culture. I had several reds but I chose a Cardinal Red. It was bright and had a nice gloss finish. I painted the entire dragon head red to cover-up the newspaper as best as I could. I then let it air dry for about a week, going over the head once every couple of days to make sure the entire surface with painted red. I also added a little gold paint to the nose area.

After a week, I got some acrylic paint to add some details to the head. Yellow for the horns, nostrils and eyebrow ridges, white for the eyes and the teeth. I will also use black for the pupils of the eyes and some little touch ups. Yet I had to let the dragon head dry for about two days to see how the colours blended with the cardinal red. I noticed the yellow was not bright enough for my liking, therefore I had to give a second coat, as it were, to the yellow and for good measure I did the white areas again too.  

In my next Art post I will let you see the final phase of the reconstruction. I hope you enjoy the images of the second stage of the Dragon Head Reconstruction.

 

If you have any questions please feel free to place them in the comment section and I will answer them as soon as possible.

 

One Response to Art Inspiration: Dragon’s Head Reconstruction, Stage 2

  1. Pingback: Friday Two Cents: Building Many Happy Memories With A Dragon’s Head | Paul Gauchi

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

