Art Inspiration: Fruit Turkey


ArtInspirationPaulGLogo 

Well in Canada this past weekend we celebrated our Thanksgiving. It gives people a chance to reflect, to take stock of what we have and be thankful for the many gifts within our lives. For many of us it is the gift of family and I am no exception. I spent a wonderful time with my family, my nieces included.

Yet this year I found a little art activity that I thought would be a perfect opportunity to build some memories with them. I saw this in a classroom and was impressed by the creativity. It is a Fruit Turkey Centrepiece.

It is very easy to put together and perfect for small children to get involved in. What you need are shish kebab skewers, a tray and some fruit. You can use any type of fruit but for my turkey I used red and green grapes, pineapples, strawberries and a cantaloupe. I did this with my nieces and it took about 30 – 45 minutes with them but I did prepare all the fruit and materials before hand.

You start by having the children wash their hands, of course, but while they are you can cut one skewer into four and place them on the bottom of the cantaloupe for support. So it does not roll away and is stable on the tray. Chop up the pineapple into triangles and pick the grapes off the vine. Then skewer the fruit to create a tail feather. You can also use this opportunity to help the children to work with patterns. For my creation we set the pattern as pineapple, red grape, green grape. The children can do this themselves and you can talk to them and ask questions such as “What is next in the pattern?” Or “What is the pattern?” You make about 7 – 8 skewers for the tail feathers.

 

Once they are done with the tail skewers, you cut one skewer a bit shorter for the head and neck. Place 5 – 6 grapes in any pattern for the neck but use a larger strawberry for the head. Then place the head at one end of the cantaloupe and the feather skewers in a fan pattern on the other end. Then step back and enjoy your centrepiece.

Fruit Turkey

Fruit Turkey

This was a wonderful activity to do with my nieces and I know that they enjoyed creating it as well as eating it for desert. As well I told them a few days before that they were responsible for making desert but I did not tell what they were doing. They were very excited and I could see in their eyes the pride they had for creating something for Thanksgiving dinner. Building memories one fruit skewer at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

