Friday Two Cents: To Thine Own Self Be True


twoCentsOldNew 

  This week I finished off my long-term occasional with one school and went back to the early childhood educator (ECE) supply list for the school board. I have to admit that I did enjoy myself working every day and I do miss the students, but I did enjoy sleeping in (about an extra 30 minutes only) and doing other activities. I was able to read, write and draw a bit more than I was able to lately.   Yet this opportunity gave me an extra opportunity to realize something else. I think I am ready and willing to have my own classroom.

 

I had several teachers and parents, come up to me lately and say that I should have my own classroom, but I was a bit hesitant or maybe a bit modest about admitting that idea. You see being an ECE is like being an assistant teacher in the room. I am there to help the teacher establish the classroom and provide programing to help assess the students. You might think that it is not so but I was told by people higher up on the food chain that, that is the role of the ECE and I understand this.

Teaching in a kindergarten class.

This past experience has been so educational that it allowed me to grow and test my abilities. Several people told me that I was running the class, even though I did not believe them. Yet I went to another class later on this week were I supplied and was teamed up with another supply teacher. The students were good even though they had two supply teachers, but I noticed that I was directing the students in a similar way when I was with the other class. The students responded to me and I was able to direct/teach them more. The teacher in the class was very appreciated and said thank you for taking on the lead. I never thought that I was leading but in retrospect I guess I was, even though I was not sure of the routine of the class the day went smoothly.

I would imagine my time as an ECE in addition to my teacher training in teacher’s college is beginning to show. I was still a bit apprehensive about getting my own classroom because of this lingering doubt in the back of my head. Am I a good teacher? There were some people who told me to change who I was to become a better teacher but many more said to just be you. In these two classes I was myself and the students responded positively. I guess I have to keep that famous quote from Shakespeare in the back of my head.

 

 

 

This above all: To thine own self be true. Shakespeare, Hamlet, Act 1, Scene 3

If I can do this than I believe I can take on any challenge along my path.

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

