Comic Strips: Getting With The Times; Almost


 

ComicStrips

  Well it is the start of a new school year with a fresh crop of students and situations that can be the basis of my comic strips. If you do not know, I am the editor of the afterschool program’s newsletter and I just finished putting the first edition of the 2015-16 together and sending it out to the parents. Even though it’s a lot of work while I look for a teaching position and work as an Early Childhood educator (ECE), I enjoy doing it but my favourite part is creating the comic strip.   I always use the students of the senior grade 5s as my inspiration for the comics. I will draw every grade five in the program as a fun cartoon caricature.

Many of the other children ask why don’t I use the other grades too. I tell them that these students are the graduating class and they deserve their moment. Also it is hard enough trying to draw 15 – 18 students and place them into 8 – 10 comic strips, just imagine 130. Therefore I had to limit the amount I can draw.

I use many different themes to inspire me to create the comic such as the difference in the generations or the use of technology in the classroom compared to their parents. Yet there are some themes that are universal to all generations.

This month centres on the first day of school. Yes that glorious day when you have to go back to the salt mines, I mean classroom and begin a fresh new year of learning and discovery.   We have all felt that horrid feeling that the summer is over and you have to wake up early each morning and go to you cell, I mean classroom, ha, ha. Not everyone is of that opinion many enjoy school. A place where you can learn new and interesting things, place where discovery is encouraged.

In this new world of technology, teachers are looking to different ways of engaging their students. How does the old saying go? “If you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em.” Well even when teachers try to use the technology of the day, the students still find ways to muck it all up.

I hope you enjoy Comic Strips: Getting With The Times; Almost and I wonder you where in the same situation as these students at work?

Oct2015NL01 copy

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

