Friday Two Cents: Pledge To Vote


twoCentsOldNew

 

  With about three weeks before the Canadian federal election many people are beginning to watch and listen closely to what the Politian’s are pledging. This has been the longest election campaign in Canadian history and many issues have come out on the campaign trail. But I am not here to spout out different political messages but one conversation with a colleague brought up one issue. People going out and vote.

We discussed the fact that many people do not go out and vote and that is a head scratcher for the both of us. For me I believe that it is our duty and our right to vote as citizens of this great FREE country. Many people have fought and died so that I have that right and not just soldiers but suffragettes who fought for women to have that right. Civil Rights Leaders so that people of different ethnic backgrounds. We both do not understand how women or minorities, who fought to have the vote don’t exercise their right.

Oh yes I have heard the “excuses” like, ‘My vote does not count.’, or ‘I can’t be bothered.’ Well I say your vote does count and in many instances one vote can mean the different for winning and losing. Then to those who cannot be bothered I say, then you have not right to complain on the status and direction of the nation. If you want to shape the way this nation is run then vote for your vision of it.

That is why I took a pledge that was offered on the Canadian Broadcast Company’s (CBC) website, stating I “Pledge to Vote”. I have added a link to the site below.

 

“Pledge to Vote”

 

I am not telling you who to vote for or will I. That is your right and I will not take it or ask you to compromise the integrity of this most amazing event. I am a Proud Canadian! If you are a Proud Canadian who can vote in this election, I challenge you to take that pledge with me and on October 19, 2015, go out and vote. I did and I will be there in the poll booth with every other Proud Canadian.

I will leave you with two quotes that has always motivated, dare I say, inspired me to vote.

 

‘In a democracy the poor will have more power than the rich, because there are more of them, and the will of the majority is supreme.’ Aristotle

 

&

 

‘Democracy is not the will of the majority but of those who show up.’ Author Unknown

 

If only one group of people vote, the rest are allowing them to speak for the rest. Think about it.

vote2015

I Pledge to vote on October 19, 2015. Will You?

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

