Friday Two Cents: Inspirational Quotes


 

twoCentsOldNew

This week I did something that was a bit different and maybe a bit bold and I was not sure how people would react.

I guess it all started with my latest trip to Stratford Ontario to experience an amazing production of a ”Sound of Music”. The show was spectacular but I got the idea for this week’s trip into uncharted territory, after the show in the gift shop. There they have wonderful t-shirts and fridge magnets with famous quotes from the show and Shakespearian plays. I have always looked to these quotes to help inspire me in my daily life and to be honest I even post these quotes in places around my home.

I have always looked to them as a wonderful source of inspiration and strength, and wondered how I could share them with others. Then I remembered an anti-bullying campaign I read, where a girl who was trying to fight off a bully. She was sent a message on Facebook saying to ‘kill herself”. But instead of responding to the message, she decided to fight back by posting positive messages on every locker in her school. Messages such as, ‘You’re beautiful’ and ‘You shine bright like a diamond.'” That was when I thought that I would combine the two for the staff and students in my school.

Positive Post-it Day held to encourage Airdrie teen’s anti-bullying campaign

 

I decided to use quotes that have always inspired me and I tried to match them to the staff members as best as I can. An example was the quote I used for the kindergarten staff.

‘You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.’ Plato

I felt it appropriate for a group of people who teach the students through a play-based curriculum.

Others where:

‘There is more treasure in books than in all the pirate’s loot on Treasure Island.’

Walt Disney

for our librarian

‘If music be the food of love, play on.’

William Shakespeare

for our music teacher and

‘Continuous effort – not strength or intelligence – is the key to unlocking our potential.’ Winston Churchill

for our principal.

I had several staff come up to me and said they enjoyed the quotes and thought it was a great idea. One staff person came up to me and said that the quote I placed on their door suited them. Another staff asked if everyone knows that they are from me. I said, “No I did not do this for recognition, I just wanted to place a little inspirational rainbow in everyone’s lives.”   Well that person appreciated it and I hope that everyone enjoyed them too.  

inspiration_quotes_Page_09

An example of one of the inspirational quotes I posted around the school.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

