Friday Two Cents: Building A Community In The First Week Of Kindergarten


twoCentsOldNew

  This week I had the pleasure to work in a kindergarten program from the first day of school. This is not the first time I was in a classroom on the first day of school but it is the first time as a certified teacher. The only catch is that I am the supply Early Childhood Educator (ECE) in the class. Don’t get me wrong I am very grateful for working in a class with a great bunch of students and a great teacher, it’s just I would love to be the permanent teacher of my own class. But I’m not here to whine about that.

The reality of this week is that I am within a kindergarten class that has 32 students ranging from 3 to 4 years of age. Many of the little ones have never been in a school or an organized setting like a daycare or class before. To say that it was difficult would be understating the facts. Yet I will be the first person to say that I enjoyed this week very much. Yes there were a few rough patches trying to get to know the students and helping them to get to know the routines and rules of the classroom, but it was a good week.

Having fun in Kindergarten

I know this because on Friday something happened in the class with the students that just made the teacher and I just smile. The students are so young many parents were hoping to have a nap or rest time during the day because the students were going home very tired. Therefore we decided to have a rest period where the students just laid down on the carpet listening to some music. They did a great job lying down without any silliness or hurting one another. I told them all this and because they did a great job I would play a song they all probably knew. It was the song ‘Let it Go’ from the Disney movie Frozen.

Exactly when they heard the song, smiles and their eyes lite up. Then they all started singing the song and some did some of the hand gestures that the character from the movie did. It was a marvel to witness. The teacher and I both just smiled. That afternoon the students were great with everyone engaged in their learning centres. Even on a personal note, a few students came up to me and said, “I like you Mr. Paul.”

The mood in the class was changing. They appeared to be getting closer, becoming a community. Amazing how a song can help bring people together, even students as young as 3 years old.

Building community in Kindergarten

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

