Friday Two Cents: Vacationing In Ontario With George Part 1


twoCentsOldNew_George

Schools out and summer vacation has begun. With it I can relax and enjoy the rest and solace that Ontario has to offer. I enjoy going away on vacation but experiencing what my home country of Canada and province of Ontario, has to offer is always number one on my list of things to do. This year I have a few local trips that I always go on and I never stop learning how great Ontario really is. Every week I will be, as the provinces slogan says, ‘Your’s to Discover’, exploring the different wonders that Ontario has to offer.

Yet I cannot help think about a few of the students in my classrooms and what they asked me. I usually teach kindergarten and this year an early primary class. In the classroom I used a puppet to help me teach the lesson. It is a purple monster with green horns that I named George. Now George sounds like Goofy and is a little silly but the students love him. He doesn’t teach the lesson, I usually have him introduce it to get their attention. I also use him as a reminder about manners and how to act in the classroom.

Every day I am with the students they always ask where is George or if he can come out and play with them. They ask me questions such as, “Are you George’s daddy? What does he like to eat? Why is he so silly?” you get the picture. But there is one question they do ask from time to time. “Do you take George on vacation with you?” I am bit surprised by this question but I guess that if they take their stuffed animals on vacation with them they may think I do too, so I say yes. But then they ask if I have any pictures of George on vacation and I have to admit to them that I do not.  

Hi Everyone!!! My Name is George!!!

Hi Everyone!!! My Name is George!!!

As they where asking me this question it made me think; maybe wherever I go this summer I should bring George and take some pictures of where he goes. Therefore this year as I go around Ontario I will bring George with me and document where he goes on vacation. This way if they ask again if I take him on vacation I can show them that he does get around. You are all probably thinking I’m crazy and acting like a kid, but I guess I am just a kid at heart. (Or I’m just in touch with my inner child.)

Well a good place to start is in my hometown of Toronto. This past week they held their annual Ribfest. For those of you who have not been to a ribfest before, you do not know what you are missing. They have rides for the kids, live shows and other entertainment. They also have food vendors that sell things like funnel cakes (deep-fried pancakes), ice cream and Bloomin’ Onions, a whole onion dipped in batter and deep-fried. It may not sound healthy but it tastes like onion rings and it is sooo good.

The best part is the rib trailers. They have these people who compete at other ribfests all over North America to see if their ribs are the best. There are vendors/competitors from across Canada of course but also from places in the United States such as Alabama, Kentucky, Florida, Ohio, Texas and New Mexico. There are no shortage of ribs places, the biggest problem is choosing which one you want to try. Or you can do what some told me while waiting in line. Many people buy a small amount of ribs from different venders to see which one has the best ribs.

They sell different amounts of ribs from a full rack (about 12 ribs) to half racks and a 1/3 rack. They also sell roast chicken and pulled pork, some places by the pound. I for one can eat about a half rack at best, especially if I get beans, coleslaw and cornbread with it. Even if you have a 1/3 of a rack from each vender, that is still a lot of ribs.

If you ever get a chance to go to a ribfest somewhere, I strongly recommend it. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some ribs to finish off. Oh and so does George.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

