Friday Two Cents: Acting Like A Kid


 

twoCentsOldNew

This week I was part of a great experience at school. The after school program had arranged that the kindergarten students would invite their fathers for a Father’s Day Soccer game. There are two classrooms and the students and fathers would play each other in a friendly soccer game.  

For my part I just set up the field and just helped run the game. We began with a coin toss as any game but because we would be playing three-ball soccer we would have a coin toss for each ball. After blew the whistle and the game began that is where the true competition began.

Dads Playing with their Kids.

 

If you think the students were the competitive ones you would be mistaken. The fathers truly took the spirit of the game to heart. Yes the students played and kicked the ball but the fathers were right beside them and they were playing to win. Thank goodness no one got hurt but there were a few close calls and some gentle reminders that to the fathers.

 

 

Dad playing with their child.

 After 30 minutes of play, the game was tied 22 – 22. Therefore we had a shoot out to determine who would win. But after 7 kickers for each side it was still tied and in true teacher fashion the game was called a draw. But I think that in the end everyone was a winner.

Yet helping with the game and watching all the participants I think that no matter how old you are you still have that inner child calling you to just play and compete. Those fathers knew it was just a friendly game but many truly played their hearts out. Sometimes I do the same thing with the students and on many occasions I have been told to stop acting like a kid. Yet looking at the students faces during and after that soccer game I could tell that they enjoyed playing with their dads, perhaps because they really tried to win.  I know because I see the same look on all the students whom I play against and with. If I do not try my best, they can tell and their enjoyment and attention is limited, but when I try, even if they lose you can see that sparkle in their eyes that they really enjoyed playing. And in the process they have learned something. Not just to play a game or an activity but teamwork, sportsmanship and integrity.

 

So I guess acting like a kid is the best way to help a student enjoy an activity but more importantly teach them.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

