Friday Two Cents: Too Many Jobs


twoCentsOldNew

“Finding a job is a job in itself.” George Giokaris (My Professor)

 

The previous week I had finished teacher’s college therefore this week I was looking forward to relaxing a bit and maybe focus on working with the students on softball and t-ball and looking for a teaching position. I had the good fortune to return to my pervious school where I worked and ran softball and t-ball leagues for the students in the afterschool. The students and teachers where looking forward to the 3 month-long activity. For me it would be my sixth year organizing and running it. Yet this week was far from relaxing.

As I have stated in a previous post my father suffered a mini stroke and had subsequent surgery to help prevent further strokes. Thankfully he is on the mend and is getting stronger with each passing day. He still requires follow-up doctor appointments but I am glad to take him.

As well I have been busy preparing my pastoral letter for my application to the Catholic boards and other letters for applications to associations and fulfilling those requirements. Plus preparing letters and resumes for all the boards I am interested in. This task is no small feat. I began it during teacher’s college but with everything happening it became a matter of priorities.  

Then of course I have the softball and t-ball leagues at work and I took on an extra responsibly of assisting a friend coach a t-ball team in another league. To say that baseball will be a part of my life for the foreseeable future would be an understatement.

Writing it all down I can see that this week has been very busy. I can only imagine if I had all this during me schooling. Wait, I did have some of these things. I just replaced teacher’s college with looking for a job and the baseball responsibilities. Two for one as it were.

My professor once said that looking for a job is a job in itself. I always believed him but never more so than now. I found it interesting that during teacher’s college they wanted us to start looking for a job while in essence “working” at practicum, doing on average 2 – 3 assignments a week, apply to associations while many of us have to work to pay for school and other amenities. If you truly look at it we were doing 4 jobs at once. Even though teacher’s college is over it would appear I still have 3 – 4 jobs again. No wonder I’m still tired.

  It would appear that I have been multitasking for so long that I have replaced one task with others. I have never believed that multitasking has any benefit and yet the world almost insists on it.   I think many know some myths of multitasking but here are a few …

Multitasking Myths

  1. Instead of increasing productivity it slows you down.
  2. You are inclined to make more mistakes (some research say up to 40% lose in productivity).
  3. It stresses you out. I can attest to that.
  4. You’re missing out on life. A social Life what is that? What social life!
  5. Your memory will suffer. Who are you again?
  6. I hurts your relationships. WHAT RELATIONSHIPS!!! If I had a girlfriend at the beginning of teacher’s college, I wouldn’t have one at the end.
  7. You can over eat. $%$@# did that. Now I have to work hard to lose what I gained.
  8. You are not good at it. Damn right!
  9. It dampers your creativity. Yes, I found it extremely difficult to indulge in my artistic pursuits.
  10. It can be dangerous. Texting and Driving comes to mind.

 I read an article on this subject and how it affects students. I am adding a link to the article if you are interested below.

 http://www.forbes.com/sites/nickmorrison/2014/11/26/the-myth-of-multitasking-and-what-it-means-for-learning/

 For me, I think I have no choice but to continue multitasking, but I think that now that I am aware of it more I will try to adjust my life a bit. Here are a few things I found that might help…

  1. Write things down.
  2. Make a plan and stick to it. Prioritize!
  3. Create the right environment for you.
  4. Take a break. Go for a walk, exercise or read a book. Have some fun.
  5. Its part of number 2 but plan some fun. Go out, watch a movie and be with friends.

Just Relax

 

Taking my own advice to heart I think I’ll write a list to figure things out, clean and organize my office and studio and then begin reading a book. Small steps but then the jobs will be done and I can finally relax.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

