Friday Two Cents: An Amazing Year At Teacher’s College


twoCentsOldNew 

One year ago this week I received my acceptance to teacher’s college. I am now only four weeks away from finishing teachers college and getting my B.Ed. and being a certified teacher. When I realized that it has been a year I had to sit back and reflect over the past year. It truly has been a roller-coaster ride with ups and downs but it was an amazing experience.

If you asked me a year ago what I thought would be in store for me, I truly had no idea. In reality the number of things I did blows my mind.

In teacher’s college I …

  1. Went to Camp Olympia for a weekend of bounding with my fellow teacher candidates (TCs) where we had made some great memories.
  2. Did a stand up routine in front of my fellow TC, professors and others (about 80 people) doing my different voices and impressions.
  3. Built relationships with about 90 amazing people who want to be teachers just like me. Knowing that I will miss every one of them after we graduate.
  4. Realized that teaching is a team effort with the students, parents and importantly the other teachers. We don’t teach in a vacuum.  
  5. Stepped out of my comfort zone and did a practicum with a bunch of great grade  6 ers and really enjoying it.
  6. Learned a lot about myself that my early childhood education (ECE) was something to be proud of and to rely on.
  7. Realized that my observational skills, learned and enhanced as an ECE, is a strength when assessing my students and helping families.
  8. Learning a new way to teach math that the students can actually understand and learn, instead of just regurgitating information and formulas.
  9. Danced every week with a great bunch of people and having so much fun doing so that I taught the steps to a bunch of grade 4 & 5 students.
  10. Discovered that one of my strengths is that I embrace and encourage new technology.
  11. Learned that every subject, including math and science can be taught through art and creativity.
  12. Learned that it is not your chronological age that defines you, but it’s how old you feel, and after this program I feel young and ready to take on the world.
  13. Learned that it does not matter what grade you teach so long as you enjoy working with the students.
  14. Thought I would want to work with the older students such as grades 4 – 6, but I realized that I love working with kindergarten and grade 1 students.
  15. Reconnected with my faith and I am comfortable with where I am in my journey.

And so much more that I cannot fit them all in.

Yet the most rewarding thing that I have done this past year in teacher’s college is getting to know some 40+ amazing people. We all came with different undergrads and backgrounds but we all had one thing in common. We all wanted to teach and work with children. This with the amazing community we built at the catholic site was something that I will never forget. We all suffered, worked hard and supported one-another like any good community should. I know that I would probably not have succeeded as I did without the support from the community we all build together.

Teacher's College. TCs from PJI and IS Community

Teacher’s College. TCs from PJI and IS Community

My lectures and assignments are all done and I still have four weeks of practicum left to do. Yet these next four weeks will be bittersweet, with wanting to finish off teacher’s college, but also missing the students and my fellow TCs. However, the memories I created this year came from my fellow TCs and I building a community around wanting to help teach and support the students we come in contact with. I realize, that is the most important thing I learned at teacher’s college.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

