Friday Two Cents: I Always Felt Better After Our Conversations


twoCentsOldNew

   There was an article in the Canadian magazine Maclean’s entitled, The science is in: God is the answer. It had to deal with the surprising scientific evidence about adolescents who had some sort of spirituality in their childhood. The evidence shows that spiritual adolescents were:

40% less likely to abuse alcohol or substance abuse,

60% less likely to suffer from depression than those who were not spiritually inclined and

80% less likely to engage in unprotected sex.

From Maclean’s, The science is in: God is the answer. by Brian Bethune and Genna Buck.  March 30, 2015

Interesting that this article came out on March 30th a week before Easter for many Christians and this weekends eastern Orthodox Catholics Easter. Also it comes at a time when people are questioning the validity of separate religious (catholic) education.

I found when reading the article that they are not advocating any one religion or spirituality but the benefits of some “higher power”, coupled with prayer or meditation. They also mentioned that adolescence is the time when major brain rewiring is occurring. I remember taking an adolescence course where we studied the phenomenon of how the adolescent brain turns into the adult brain. As mentioned in the article, adolescents do increase their intellectual power while they lose emotional control. The spiritual base provided to them during their childhood can help them through this most trying and confusing time. I believe many of us would agree that their teenage years were full of turmoil of one thing or another.

The article The science is in: God is the answer is a wonderful read full of intellectual facts and will truly make you think about the human condition. During this time I have many things on the go; school, practicum, working, looking for a teaching position and family obligations. After reading this article it truly made me reflect on what made me who I am and how much of my life experiences were governed by my spiritual background. I am part of that 44% of Canadians who would classify themselves as “spiritual but not religious”. Yet I am not sure how many times I would find myself just talking to God, like I would an old friend. You can call it prayer or meditation, but whatever you call it all I know is that I always felt better after.

 

Maclean’s Article link: The science is in: God is the answer

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

