Friday Two Cents: Just Think And Live In The Moment


twoCentsOldNew 

This past week I have been in my first week of a two-week practicum block and it has been amazing. I am with younger primary students and their thirst for knowledge has been great but what is amazing is that in the end they are just little people who just think and live in the moment. One such incident occurred at the beginning of the week that it just made the rest of the week that much better.

The week started like any other with me going to the school and getting ready for the day full of lessons and exploring new experiences. I had not seen the students in two-week because of classes and educational workshops so I was eager to be in the class with them again. The bell rang and they began coming in. When they came in they saw me and said good morning but they all did a double take when they saw me. One student said, “Mr. Gauchi what’s on your face.” Another, “Mr. Gauchi you have a moustache!” They all said something along those lines.  

You see last week it was Ash Wednesday and for Catholics we usually give up something for Lent. Usually it is something that has to do with a sin such as greed or gluttony so people give up sweets or some food that they like until Easter. I decided to give up shaving.   I didn’t completely give up shaving I decided to grow a Van Dyke, a mustache and beard on the chin that are not connected. For me I shave everyday to look smart, clean and professional, which has a bit to do with vanity.

We are in a Catholic school so the students understand what the Lenten season is about, so I explained to the students that for Lent I gave up shaving. They all looked at me and said, “No. You have to give up a food.” I said that some people do other things like try to be nicer to people or give up complaining about the weather.   Yet even though I explained it to them the best was when they said, “Mr. Gauchi, shave it off. You look different. You look better without it.” The funniest part is when they started saying that I looked like Mario and Luigi from Super Mario Brothers, others said Tony Stark from Avengers. These little people are so amazing that something as simple as growing a Van Dyke can elicit such a response for them.

Hugging the teacher – living in the moment.

The comments continued all week and I have to see how long it will take for them to get use to the Van Dyke. All I know is that the students are so genuine with their statements that I cannot help but be humbled by them. They are just little primary students yet their innocent and honest statements just remind me why I love working with children. Where else can you go into work and have 20 people be honest and just tell you what’s on their mind. It is so refreshing to be with people who just think and live in the moment.  

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

