Friday Two Cents: The Sweetest Fruit


twoCentsOldNew 

Usually at this time of year many people look back and reflect to see what they have done and where they are going. I was thinking along those lines about what I have done and what my path is leading to. Yet while I was reflecting I remembered something that happened to me last week that really made my day, to be honest, my decade and I would like to share that moment with you.

Last week the students at my school put on their usual holiday performance for their parents. They did a great job but there was one student whom I have known since she was in kindergarten, who was there with her parents to see her sister in the play. She is now in grade 9 and a wonderful young lady. We talked after the performance with her parents about her life and what she is doing recently. She knew I went back to teacher’s college and was asking about that experience, while I asked her how she liked her high school experience.  

Some how the conversation went into the amount of assignments and presentations we both have to do. She mentioned something that I quite honestly forgot about. She told me that she was doing PowerPoint presentations all the time in high school. She went on to say, the only reason she was making good presentations is because she remembered what I taught her in my PowerPoint classes she took when she was in grade 5.

I was surprised and asked her if during the four years since then, didn’t she have other teachers teacher her about making presentations. She said a flat-out, No. She said she learned so much in those classes and in the Art classes with me, that it is now paying off. She and her parents couldn’t thank me enough and I was so humbled by this statement that I could not find the words to express myself properly. All I could say was, ‘I am glad I could help you.’

She then gave me a big hug saying, ‘I am going to miss you when you move on to a new school.’ I said I was going to miss her too while I held back a tear. Her mother and sister also hugged me saying the same thing and the father gave me a firm handshake saying he was happy that I touched his family in such a profound way. I will tell you it took all my effort to keep my eyes dry.

Sowing Seeds

You never know how or who your actions will touch at the time when you are doing something for someone. I was just thinking about helping these students learn about creating PowerPoint presentations and art in those classes. Yes I was hoping to pass on some knowledge but I did not think about how important to their lives it really was or would be. I would imagine, if you sow the seeds with good intentions at heart, one day those same seeds will bear the sweetest fruit.

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.