Friday Two Cents: Funny How Life Works In Mysterious Ways.


 twoCentsOldNew

For the past month I have not been posting many Friday Two Cents. To be honest I have been preoccupied with finishing assignments and lesson plans for my practicum in teacher’s college to have the time for posting. This week I finished off my first practicum / semester and last assignment and now I have settled in to just relax for the holidays.

Yet I was privileged to go to my staff’s Christmas party at the after school program I work in. The students had finished their last play of the holiday celebration for their parents and the staff always goes out for their Christmas celebration dinner. There we exchange gifts and relax in a more social atmosphere.

After the dinner and the gift exchange the director did something different this year.   She asked us to reflect on the past four months and tell the group, “How would you describe these past four months of the school year?” This question got us all thinking but all of us had to say it was hard work but in the end the students and teachers are beginning to understand one another and everyone was enjoying their time at the school.

For me though I have a more unique perspective. I only can go in once or twice a week because of teacher’s college so my experience of the first four months is quite different. Yet I described that going in to the school for those few days was like an anchor for me. No matter how difficult or chaotic my life got with assignments of lesson plans, I knew going to the school was like a safe harbour in a storm that has been my life so far. The director and the other staff appreciated me saying that and I meant every word.

Thinking about my reflection I have to admit that the school truly has been a comforting anchor that has kept me on course these past four months. Not only with the ECE staff, whom I work with, but also the teaching staff at the school. They have been a constant reminder of why I went into teaching. Their constant well wishes and support has given me the strength and determination I needed at some trying times.

I thought that once I got into teacher’s college I would not see or spend time with people from the school, that my studies would consume all my time. Then when I was asked to return for at least one day a week and I was not sure I could handle the extra pressure of another school, staff and students to my already busy schedule. Yet it has been this extra school, staff and students that have been my rock, my anchor in a sea of turmoil. Funny how life works in mysterious ways.

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.