Friday Two Cents: Teachers Should Get Babysitting Rates


twoCentsOldNew

I am late posting my Friday Two Cents for three reasons.
  1. I have been really busy with lesson planning.
  2. Trying to spent time with my nieces.
  3. A colleague shared something with me and  I simply had to ignore my original idea and share my thoughts on this one.
 The last reason centres on a newspaper poll for the Toronto Sun where it asks:
Ontario Teachers are:
  • Paid what they’re worth
  • Paid too much
  • Paid too little
At last count 56% said that teachers are Paid too Much.

 

When I read this Poll, I saw the same media bashing of teachers I have seen for years. Being an ECE I know a thing or two about not being paid enough for the work I do. We are entrusted with the care and education of the children and yet we are constantly attacked and undervalued. When I was part of a contract negotiation, I even had a parent tell me once, to my face, that we do not deserve a cost of living increase for what we do. This coming from a fellow union member, unbelievable.

Many say that teachers are doing nothing but babysitting the children and should get paid accordingly. Well let’s do the math. The average income of teachers is about $55,500 a year (from salary.com – http://www1.salary.com/CA/Ontario/Public-School-Teacher-salary.html).  The average babysitting rate is about $10 an hour / child (http://www.payscale.com/research/CA/Job=Babysitter/Hourly_Rate). Lets get the hourly rate of the teachers and see how overpaid they really are.  

Let us begin by dividing the yearly salary by the number of workdays they work in a school year 185 (PA days are not included because they are not with the children.)

$55,500 / 185 = $300 per day

 Now let us divide the amount by the number of children in a classroom. From kindergarten to grade 3 the average class size is 20 and in grades 4 – 6 it’s around 30, so we spit the difference and say 25 children per classroom.

So that’s $300 / 25 children = $12 per child per day

 Hold on, now we have to divide that number by the number of hours they work. Okay their school day is from 8:30 am to 3:00 pm that’s 6.5 hours. Subtract the hour lunch that gives you 5.5 hours with the children.

Therefore that’s $12 / 5.5 hours = $2.18 per hour per child.

 Hold one, are you telling me that teachers are getting paid $2.18/ hr. per child to teach them Math, Language (reading & writing), Science, Social Studies, Health, Physical Education and Art?  Baby-sitters are getting $10/hr. per child to just look after them.  Hmm, maybe they should pay teachers babysitting rates.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

