Friday Two Cents: Their Heart’s Are In The Right Place


twoCentsOldNew

This week was an exciting one because I was able to do my first two lesson plans with the students. I was so excited to begin that I could feel my heart racing while I did them.  At one point I noticed I needed to calm down when I was printing on the board. When I get excited or nervous my handwriting is, to put it mildly, terrible. But if I am calm and focused on the task I have pretty good penmanship, so I have been told. My mentor teacher noticed my enthusiasm and said that it was good to see and for me to keep it up. But back to the lesson plans.

Tubes - A Cooperative Game to help with motion, teamwork skills and strategy

Tubes – A Cooperative Game to help with motion, teamwork skills and strategy

The first was a physical education lesson centred on cooperative games to foster teamwork and strategy. The activity starts in one corner of the gym and the students needs to get a Ping-Pong ball into the bind at the centre of the gym. However, you have to do this by rolling it through pipes or tubes that are about 30 cm or 1 foot long and cut in half. The team only gets 5-6 of these tubes and that is only about 1.5 m. They still have 3-4 m to go so the first person must go to the end and continue the tube system and the next person and so on. The team must work together to achieve their goal of getting the ball into the bin. I have to tell you they were excited to do the activity and their enthusiasm was amazing to see.

The next plan was a read-a-loud to the children in the class. I selected “How Full is Your
Bucket” to read to the class. It is about a boy who is told that everyone has an invisible bucket above his or her head. When their bucket is empty they feel terrible. But when it is full they feel great. Every time you feel badly because of what some says or does to you, you lose a drop from your bucket. But if someone does something nice to you, a drop will fall into your bucket. The trick also is if you do something nice for someone else you not only drop into his or her bucket, but you also drop one into yours.

I read the book to the class but I added the sound effect of water drops dripping with my mouth. This little effect added so much to their interest in the book. They enjoyed the story and I also had a reflection question for their religion lesson. “What can you do to fill someone else’s bucket?” They came up with some great ideas such as, sharing with others, caring, helping, giving compliments but I really enjoyed one sentence a student wrote. “We can pray for others to help them feel better.” That is what’s so amazing about children; they have their hearts in the right place.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

