Friday Two Cents: Visiting Local Communities in Ontario Part 6


twoCentsOldNew

This summer I have been visiting different communities around my hometown, Toronto. Yet Toronto has a lot to offer for a vacation. From going to the CN Tower, Casa Loma, the Zoo and the shopping to the theatres with wonderful live performances and many more that I haven’t mentioned because of the time.

High Park Amphitheatre

High Park Amphitheatre

Yet I was able to partake in two that I truly enjoyed and would like to share with you. The first was a little known production called Shakespeare in the Park. It is located in High Park situated in the west end of the downtown core. For the past 32 years they have been performing Shakespearian plays in the park amphitheater. I have seen many wonderful plays there and this year is no exception. This year I saw As You Like It and Titus Andronicus, two wonder plays yet very different. As You Like It is a funny adventure into love and Titus Andronicus is Shakespeare’s most violent and bloody tragedy. Despite the contrasting themes of the plays they were both amazing to witness.

The second was the Canadian National Exhibition (CNE). I have been going year after year to the Exhibition for most of my life. I enjoy going to see the art, craft and hobbies exhibits, the shows and of course sampling the different types of foods they have to offer. I even have a tradition of getting a corn dog once I enter the grounds. I know that it is not a healthy choice but once you enter the grounds healthy choices are thrown out the window. Besides, it is the only time during the year when I eat a corn dog.

This year I was able to see different shows such as the birds of prey show, the acrobatic show Mirage and performances in the International Pavilion. The one new thing I did this year was taking the walking tours. The first was in the afternoon with an Architectural Tour of the buildings of the CNE and the second was the more disturbing Ghost Tour of the CNE after dark. They were both great with a lot of historical information of the CNE grounds dating back to the war of 1812 when the grounds was the site of the Battle of York (the original name of Toronto).

These two wonderful events in the heart of Toronto are amazing every year. Unfortunately these two events are only available in the city for a limited time and as of the 1st of September they are gone for the year. That’s why I always have mixed feelings about the CNE. I love going but I know that once I leave the grounds it means summer is over and school will start soon. Oh well I guess I have to just wait and look forward to next year.

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

