Art Inspiration: A Gift From The Gods; Pandora: Hermes


Pandora title

 

  In my life I have had moments that inspire me to create and wonder about different possibilities. Working with children has always been a catalyst for these moments. On a number of occasions I have provided a drawing or art class for the children and their curiosity has inspired many ideas and creations. Some of these inspirations have produced scenes of me drawing them camping, or as characters from Harry Potter, but the majority of them enjoyed me creating a scene based on the Greek gods. I have posted this work so titled The Greek Gods, Distraction on Olympus”.

  This experience was so enjoyable that I have been thinking of creating another scene from Greek Mythology for some time. In the next few weeks I will be posting the different characters of this scene and a little background info on each one. I must emphasize that this drawing is not for the children in my school but an independent work I undertook for my own enjoyment. It is from my imagination and may be a bit adult.

Hermes

  Hermes is the son of Zeus and a beautiful nymph Maia. An extremely gifted baby it was said that he was born at dawn created and played the lyre by midday and stole the cattle of Apollo by the evening. The main and important attributes of Hermes are that he was the quintessential trickster and a master of persuasion. He had many duties but the two main where the divine messenger of the gods and the god that guides the souls to the underworld.

  Here is a list of the many qualities of Hermes.

  • Divine Messenger of the gods
  • Guides the souls to the underworld
  • Guider of dreams
  • A robber, a spy in the night and a prince of thieves
  • Slayer of Argus, the hundred-eyed giant
  • Devious, ingenuity and a clever talker
  • Lord of flocks and Mt. Cyllene and Arcadia

   Hermes accessories included …

  • The Petasus, a broad-brimmed hat with wings
  • Sandals with wings
  • The Caduceus, a herald’s staff that was entwined with two snakes.

   With the Pandora story Hermes is said to have “to put in her a shameless mind and a deceitful nature.” (Hesiod, Works & Days 54 ff ) on the orders of Zeus. In other words the ability to lie and cheat without remorse, to have the nature of a thief. In layman’s terms, a bitch. He was then instructed to take Pandora to Epimetheus (brother of Prometheus) as a gift from Zeus.

  I drew Hermes hovering with all three of his accessories. I really wanted to show a muscular Hermes and so I just drew him wearing shorts and not a robe. Also Hermes is usually depicted without facial hair and I did the same. I wanted to show a youthful and strong Hermes in comparison to my early work with The Greek Gods, Distraction on Olympus”.

  I hope you enjoy my depiction of Hermes ‘Divine messenger of the gods’ from The Gift From The Gods; Pandora. 

Hermes -  Divine messenger of the gods.

Hermes – Divine messenger of the gods.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

