Friday Two Cents: Visiting Local Communities in Ontario Part 4


twoCentsOldNew

  This week I returned to Stratford Ontario for the Stratford Festival. However this time I took a side trip to St. Jacobs Ontario to visit the market.

St Jacobs Antique Market

  The market or flea market is a large area that includes a few buildings and a farmers market. The first place I visited was the antique market building. I was looking for a couple of things but I was not holding my breath. Yet once I entered I was over whelmed by the size and the number of stuff there. I must have spent over 3 hours looking around the building but in the end I found what I was looking for and more. I wanted antique doorplates because I am refinishing my doors in my home and I was lucky to find a book on Sci-Fi Art.

  After I was able to visit the food building and farmers market but they were closing up and I could not see everything. Oh well, just another excuse to return and sample the local cuisine. But when I was leaving to head towards Stratford I was stopped by a vintage train from the Waterloo Central Railway. I found out later that the train stops at the market. Yet another reason to revisit St. Jacobs.

  Later I arrived in Stratford for another performance. This time I went to see the musical Man of La Mancha. It is being performed in the heart of Stratford at the Avon Theatre. I got there early with my friend to do a little site seeing and window-shopping in the town. It is a quant little town, to be honest I would love to live their. It is small and quite and far enough away from the fast pace busy world were one can lose one’s self in imagining the impossibility.

  After a walk about and a nice dinner at a local restaurant it was time for go to the show. The synopsis from the festival’s website says it all …

Stratford Festival Man of La Mancha

 

“Awaiting trial by the Inquisition, poet and playwright Miguel de Cervantes is assailed by his fellow prisoners, who try to seize the manuscript of his masterpiece, Don Quixote. His inspired response: a challenge to join him in staging his stirring tale of Quixote’s obsessive quest to attain an impossible dream.”

 Stratford Website Man of La Mancha

 

  The performance was spectacular, made better because I had front row seats. The music was infectious and I have been humming the music all week. I know I have been to Stratford once this year but the second visit was as enjoyable as the first. Now I am thinking of a third trip for another show but the problem is what to see. If only all decisions were this enjoyable.

One Response to Friday Two Cents: Visiting Local Communities in Ontario Part 4

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    I love St. Jacobs. A friend had her wedding there years ago. It was a lot of fun and my kids actually took the train for a quick trip to Waterloo and back.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

