Friday Two Cents: Getting Rid Of Old Clothes? Positive Or Negitive.


twoCentsOldNew

   As part of my summer holiday, I am trying to get things done around the house that I have put off for several years. The reason was not for a lack of desire but because of the extra courses I was taking to finish off my degree and apply to teachers college. Well in about 6 weeks that will become a reality so I have been trying to get a handle on my tasks. This week I have begun purging my stuff and doing a general clean up.

   For the past several years I have been undergoing the herculean task of losing weight and living healthier. My diet has steadily changed to a more healthy, smaller choices and I have increased my exercise regiment to include resistance training in addition to cardio. It has not been an easy task but for seven years I slowly lost the weight and kept it off. Now after 7 years I can say I have lost 75 pounds. Furthermore I have reduced in size from an x-large shirt to a large and I have gone down three pants sizes.

   I have cloths that are way too large for me. Many people have told me to get rid of those old clothes so that you have a motivated reason not to gain the weight back. So I decided to get rid of all my clothes that are too large for me. When I began I thought it was only going to be a few items. How wrong I was. In the end, I had 4 large garbage bags full of over sized, pants, shorts, t-shirts, sweatshirts, sweaters and shirts. I could not believe it.

Amazed and embarrassed at the same time.

   The really scary part was when I tried on some of the large clothes. A part of me was amazed and another embarrassed. Amazed that I lost the weight and embarrassed because I let myself get so large. Now I can proudly say I am the same size and weight when I was in high school.

   Yet once I did get rid of the large clothes (I donated them to Goodwill) it felt good and my friends were right. Once you do not have those large clothes anymore, you realize you do not have that fall back position. This way you truly are motivated to keeping that weight off. I guess doing a purge and cleaning up around the house can be a positive experience.  

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

