Art Inspiration: Staff Cartoons A Pirate’s Life For Me: Final Portrait


APiratesLifeLogo04

Inspiration. Something every artist needs and is illusive as the Lock Ness Monster. Many people have told me that I inspire the children and people in general with what I do. Whether creating art, playing baseball or trying to improve my life people say that I have inspired others to try new things and look inside themselves. I have always found this interesting because I get my inspiration from these very people. Whether it be a child asking me about Mythology or adults asking me about their children or even just talking to people about anything, they have inspire me to create and use my imagination to bring the impossible possible.

A prime example is when I draw the staff at my school as cartoon characters or caricatures. It started one year around Christmas when we have our Christmas concert and staff dinner. Always after the concert, we go out for dinner and we exchange gifts, such as a Chris Kringle. I wanted to liven things up and instead of giving Christmas cards, I decided to create my own with the staff members as a caricature.

This year the inspiration for the caricatures came from the children’s concert. We were doing a Pirates Christmas and at the same time Pirates of the Caribbean was out. Also for Halloween I dressed as Captain Jack Sparrow and everyone loved the costume. It made me imagine, what would it be like if the staff where all pirates? From these simple beginnings I decided to draw all the staff as pirate caricatures.

Well the staff loved the cards and caricatures and in the next few weeks I will be posting a few of the characters from the cards because these people inspired me to create these characters. Hopefully they can spur imagination and inspire others.

 Final Portrait

In the final image, I gathered all the caricatures for a staff portrait. Obviously the theme is pirates, therefore the scene would be on a pirate ship. I decided to have the scene be on the main deck of the ship looking towards the stern, where the wheel or helm would be.

I began with creating the doors and stairs to the upper deck. Then I created the railings and stern decoration of the ship. Usually there would be a mast with a stirring sail behind the wheel but I decided not to put one in because it took away from the image. After I added the decking and the cargo hold on the bottom centre of the image. I then created cannons for either side of the deck. The rigging and sky was added to give a feeling of depth and it looked good to have some rigging on a sailing ship after all. The last touch was the pirate flag. I have this flag as a prop I used on Halloween and for when I introduce pirates as a theme for the children. So naturally I redrew it for the portrait and it gave a final touch that really made the image come to life.

I added the staff caricatures onto the lower deck but of course the captain is at the helm and that is where I placed my caricature. Then I added my personal logo ‘Paul G” to the lower right with the title “A Pirate’s Life For Me.” The soft-feathered frame was added last to, quite simply, framed the portrait. And there you have it.

After I gave the staff their individual cards with their caricatures, I presented this final portrait to them all. To say that they liked it would be an understatement. They all loved the final portrait and I hope you too will enjoy “A Pirate’s Life For Me.”

Art Inspiration: A Pirate's Life For Me: Final Portrait

Art Inspiration: A Pirate’s Life For Me: Final Portrait

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

