Friday Two Cents: Back to Nature


twoCentsOldNew

This past week I was on my first vacation in four years. After two years of home renovations and two more of courses, I was eager to get away from the city.

This year I went on a vacation that I have not gone on in seven years, camping. I use to go camping with friends when I was younger but recently I haven’t gone. It is not for a lack of trying or wanting to go. It is just that most of my friends are married, in relationships or have kids so they go on other vacations than camping. Seven years ago I tried going camping by myself, but I soon discovered it is an experience best shared. Not to mention a bit dangerous going by yourself. If you hurt yourself hiking alone who is around to help you? So I haven’t gone since.

mosquitocount

This year I went with a friend who also has not gone camping in years. They also enjoyed the experience of going into nature and camping under the stars. Though I think we both agree that we could have done without the mosquitoes.   I do not know why but this year there were more than I ever had in the past. Not to mention the deer flies buzzing trying to eat you alive. In the end I kept a count of how many I killed, the final tally was 82 mosquitoes and 8 deer flies.

The experience over all was enjoyable and we both had fun hiking, cooking over an open fire, swimming and just enjoying the fresh air and just resting. Also cooking on an open fire was great. We/I cooked ribs and steak on it with side dishes of sautéed vegetables and of course an accompanying wine. Oh the best is when I cooked the bacon for the next morning’s breakfast on the fire and if you ever have the chance to eat bacon cooked over an open flame or BBQ grill, do it. You have not tasted bacon until you have eaten it cooked over a grill. Delicious!!!

We had a lot of fun until the last day when we had torrential rainstorms that lasted for two hours. It was so wet that even the dry clothes that I did not wear, in a sports bag in the tent, were wet.  The tent even with a sturdy fly got soaked.

Despite the bugs and rain I enjoyed the experience. Many would think I am nuts to think so but I learned something. I imagined how the first explorers came through Canada without bug repellent, cars, the appropriate equipment, and coolers or good food. They tamed this land and here I am walking through the forest for fun swatting bugs complaining. I love my modern gadgets; by the way I still got texts and baseball updates on my cell phone in the middle of nowhere, 2 hours away from any major city. I love my modern conveniences like plumbing, showers, soap, cars and at night, warm dry lodgings. I would not trade them for anything.

I guess what I am saying is that it is good to go back to nature, sort of, to help you appreciate what you have.

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

