Reflection: The Lives We Touch


 reflection

The school year has come and gone and with it I have finished my courses for my degree program in Early Childhood Education. With that end, a new beginning is about to begin. In September I begin the task of completing teachers’ college to be able to teach children from kindergarten to grade 6. Currently I can teach in only kindergarten but I want to teach the older children.

For this purpose, I have had to leave my current work place as an ECE supply teacher and ECE teacher in the after school program at the school I am in. I have been there for, what they say is 10 years, working with teachers, children and parents. Providing programing for the children from grades kindergarten to grade 5. Leaving is bitter-sweet because I will miss the teachers, children, parents and the whole community. Yet everyone at the school understands and is sad to see me leave as much as I feel sad for leaving.

This week I found out how much. On Thursday I had a surprise from the children and staff of the after school program. They had a farewell party for me. I kind of suspected it but what happened at the party is what blew me away.   They had children and parents presenting speeches, poems and kinds words of reflection, best wishes and good luck. Some of the grade 5 graduating class wrote letters and speeches that really pulled on my heartstrings.

One grade 3 boy’s speech was very memorable. It was short and right to the point. He said, ‘Before coming to the school in kindergarten, I was in a baseball league and I did not like baseball. But Mr. Paul taught me and encouraged me in baseball and now I love baseball.’ He said this wearing his little league baseball uniform. It took a lot of self-control not to tear up right there.

That little speech and the others written by the children and parents was something I did not expect. Many mentioned the different club/classes like drawing, painting, art, puppet making, computers, journalism, football and baseball. I never realized that parents and students truly enjoyed and appreciated them. I just did them because they were fun to do and the children had fun doing them.  

As well, I never expected them to say thanks for making them feel welcome at the school. I forgot the little things I did to make the children laugh on their first day at school, but they did not. Little things like one little girl not wanting to say here name so I guessed here name and I called her George. I had forgotten that but she is in grade 5 now and she remembered it and said it in her speech.  Amazing what you remember. 

I had no idea I had touched so many lives until they all said that I did. I wanted to help people and make their experience in school a fun one. The way I remembered my teachers’ did for me. Yet upon reflection, I may have touched their lives and they say I helped them, but in reality, they are the ones that have enriched my life. Every one of the teachers, parents and children have taught me so much and made my life that much happier. Thanks everyone, until we meet again.

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

