Friday Two Cents: They Love You Right Back


twoCentsOldNew

 

 

Today we had the Fathers’ Day T-Ball game for the kindergarten classes. All the  kindergarten fathers were invited to come out and play a friendly t-ball game with their child. I can tell you that it is something I look forward to every year. The children are excited to have their fathers’ playing with them and I love to see them so excited.

Father’s Day T-Ball

These children play t-ball in the league I organize at my school and they all enjoy it. Today, it was amazing to see them in their t-ball shirts having fun playing. We had a friendly game with the two classes playing against each other. The fathers’ would play in the field with their child and when the child batted, their parent would run the bases with them. Yet the best part is in the second inning when the fathers would bat.

I always give the parents the option to use the tee to hit or I could pitch the ball to them. They all want me to pitch, not fast just slow under hand throws to make it easy for them. Many do not know how to play baseball but everyone gets a chance to hit and I make the pitches very easy for them to hit. One parent had about 8 pitches thrown to him but he could not hit the ball. The parent was about to give up, but I said “No here though the ball up and hit it that way.” It took about four more tries but the father hit the ball and the child ran to first with dad in tow. She was visibly happy and we then moved on with the game.

The game was fantastic for all the children and parents alike and after the game we had refreshments and treats for all. Yet during this time, there came a memorable moment I will never forget. The little girl who’s dad took eight pitches and four tries to hit the ball, came to me while I was cleaning up the bases. She came up to me and said “Mr. Paul Thank You for letting my daddy hit the ball.” She said it so sincerely and with a big smile that it was hard to keep from tearing up. I said to her that she was most welcome and asked if she had fun. She gave me an enthusiastic yes and went to the treat table.

Other children came up and thanked me for the game and I was very happy when they did so. But that little girl thanking me for letting her dad hit was priceless. The game and experience are intended to be a fun time for all. She was grateful that her daddy got to hit and to make sure that his feelings were not hurt too. Even at 6 years old she loves her daddy so much that she did not want his feelings to get hurt.

Dad’s, you might love your children very much, but be reassured. They love you just as much right back.

Happy Father’s Day.

Happy Father’s Day

 

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

