Comic Strips: Until We Meet Again


ComicStrips

“Your problem is to bridge the gap, which exists between where you are now, and the goal you intend to reach.” by Earl Nightingale

This latest publication of ‘The Craziest Things’ has been sent out for all to see. The June comic strip is a culmination of the years drawings of the children in the graduating class at my school. Every month I create a comic strip with the children in the grade 5s in a situation that I have observed them doing. I sometimes add a little creative license but many times what you see is what happened.

But like I said, the June comic is a culmination of the year and these children will be graduating to a new school to begin the daunting task of fitting into middle school. Yet for the last comic of the school year I like to create a scene with a farewell message or words of wisdom to the graduating class. You can see a few of them in the comic section on my blog. One was a class photo theme, the other about different people you meet in your life. Last years was about shooting for the stars. This year it took me a long time to figure out what to say and draw.

After some searching and thinking I finalized on this years theme. This year is a little different because I will be leaving my school to go to teacher’s college, to get my BEd and certification as a teacher. I am already an ECE teacher working with kindergarten children but I want to teach older grades.

So what do I want to leave to the class? I usually send a message to the grads but I wanted something extra special about how you being in my life was special and that even though we are going our separate ways, our paths may cross again. Therefore I came up with a persons’ life being a book and that in the chapters of that life you meet all sorts of people. This goes for the grads as well as for me and so I wrote …

In the book,

That is my life,

In that chapter where I know you,

Here I say,

“I am glad to have known you.”

Good luck and until

We meet again.

The image is all the children’s caricatures looking at the audience but if you look carefully you will see in the upper window a lone character. It is a man waving, standing beside a tree and a bridge. The character, if you haven’t guessed is me waving to the children and audience. The tree is a symbol of patience and being steadfast which I have tried to be to the school and children. The bridge is part of my philosophy on teaching.

You see as a teacher I see myself as a bridge builder. I see my job is to help give courage, strength and self-confidence to the children so they can build that bridge. To help the children span the void from inexperience to knowledge. If I have done my job right, the children will want to cross that bridge by themselves.  

For me, I am about to cross a bridge that I have built to the future. The metaphor is the same for the children. If I have done my job right than the children will follow my lead and cross their bridges to their futures. After that, who knows where or when our paths may meet again.

I hope you enjoy ‘The Craziest Things: Until We Meet Again.’

June2014NLpg7g_copy

 

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

