Comic Strips: Global Cooling


ComicStrips

The May newsletter is out and with it the latest version of ‘The Craziest Things’ along with it.

This month’s depiction comes out of the age-old school project, in this case the issue of Global Warming. There’s not a week without the children reminding me to recycle items or paper in the classroom. They even give me a hard time when I give them freezes after a baseball game and the plastic that it uses.

On April 22 was Earth Day in Canada and in our school we celebrated that day by going outside and picking up garbage and making the school grounds a better place. Ironically, I went to the same children who bother me about recycling and other environmental issues and asked them, “Why are we doing this?” They responded with we are cleaning up the Earth. I posed the question/statement for them to think about. “It seems to me that if the children of the school put their trash in the garbage, we would not have to be out here. Would we?” They all looked at me and responded with a sheepish grin.

They couldn’t respond to that statement, but then I added, with a smile, “There are always two sides to every situation. A cause and effect if you will. Instead of telling me about environmental issues you should be educating your friends and classmates and reminding them.” They smiled at me and they understood.

That is where the inspiration for this comic came from. They may preach and say what they belief but there is always another story that goes along with it. We in Toronto have also had a very harsh winter and only now, in the being of May, are the trees beginning to bloom. We are a month behind in the weather and I think the children have picked up on it too. So I decided to poke a little fun at the whole global warming/ environmental situation. I hope you enjoy ‘The Craziest Things: Global Cooling.’

May2014NL02a

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

