Friday Two Cents: Truly Important In Life


twoCentsOldNew

Oh my goodness!!!! Today was a rollercoaster of a day.

It started at 0600 with a call to go in and supply teach in a class. I had to gas up so I left the house around 0700, filled up the car and making it in for work on time for 0800. I then spent a lovely but long day in the kindergarten class. I helped them finish up their Mothers’ day gifts, read a story and put on a puppet show, in between my regular duties.

After the school day I was with the kindergarten and grades 1 & 2 children for a make up T-ball game that was postponed because of rain earlier in the week. I was tired but their energy and enthusiasm just kept me going. The best part was after the game. I usually give out freezes to the children who play in the game, but I could not find any at any store. I guess with all this cold weather the retailers did not bother to stock them.

I told the children that I know that I usually given them freezes after a game, but I could not find any, so I got lollipops instead. I asked them if that was all right, and of course their collective response was a resounding “YES!”   They all had a lollipop and where so happy with the game and the treat in the end that I had to smile. I had a hard morning but their faces made my afternoon.

Oh that’s not all. After the game I had to go the university for my last course before getting my degree. I knew I would be in class for 4 more hours but I pressed on. I was tired and really feeling the riggers of the day pressing down on me. Yet half way through the course we got a break and I checked my email. There was an email from my sister with some pictures of my niece. Today is her fifth birthday and she was so excited about it. She was wearing her uniform and had a lovely hairstyle just for today, but she was also very happy because she got an Elsa costume. She wanted to show my parents and me and those pictures re-energized me for the rest of the course.

I finally got home after being out of the house for over 14 hours and you know what I learned today? That no matter how trying the day may be with people or how tired you are, a smile or a hug or a picture of an excited child, will always fix everything. At those moments all the problems of the day just melted away and I remembered what was important in life. You have to let it go, be yourself and enjoy life. Work and school is not my life, loving and being loved by those close to me is what is truly important in life.

All you need sometimes is a hug.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

