Friday Two Cents: Discipline And Routine


 twoCentsOldNew

Last week was the annual March Break.  For those of you who do not know, in North America, schools suspend studies for one week to allow the children, parents and teachers a much-needed break, to recharge and get ready for the final push towards the end of the year studies. 

This March Break I stayed at home and just did some work for my courses and enjoyed some time with my nieces.  Unfortunately, I did something else; I stopped my routine and relaxed my discipline as a result, I gained about 4 – 5 pounds.  I was very upset with myself and I decided to get back into a routine. 

Therefore this week I made it a point to get back into a routine of eating right and getting out.  Every morning I would get up early, eat breakfast and go out to do some work.  I’d work out before lunch and then do some work after lunch.  At night I relaxed and enjoyed my time with people and other activities. And in one week, to my surprise, I lost the 5 pounds. 

George Washington

I have to tell you that I was a bit surprised that the routine and discipline bore fruit quickly.  I plan to continue the routine as best as I can, yet I know that this quick lose is something I have to maintain and because it can easily return. 

I guess I forgot the quote from George Washington, “Discipline is the soul of an army. It makes small numbers formidable; procures success to the weak, and esteem to all.”  

Discipline and routine brings its own rewards.   

2 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Discipline And Routine

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    The same thing happened to me, Paul. I gained 4 pounds when I went to visit my sister in Calgary last week. I went back to my ‘sensible eating’ routine on Monday and as of this morning I’ve lost those 4 pounds. Now I just need to continue and start losing the rest of the weight I gained this winter. It’s a never ending struggle. Carol

    • Paul Gauchi says:

      You are so right. I never realized how quickly you can lose control when your routine is thrown out of kilter. It would seem that discipline is a constant friend that I have to keep beside me. I have to remember what my chief once said, “The navy’s religion is discipline.” true words for everyone.

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

