Friday Two Cents: Beware the Ides of March


twoCentsOldNew

“Beware the ides of March.” Shakespeare Julius Caesar Act 1, Scene 2

These famous or should I say infamous words were spoken to Caesar by a soothsayer to be aware of the “ides of March”.  The “ides of March” falls on the fifteenth day of March and is known as the date that Caesar was assassinated by 60 conspirators, including his close friend Brutus.  This marks an important date in the Roman world.  The transition from the Roman Republic to the Roman Empire. 

Gaius Iulius Caesar

This incident was the last act of the civil war between Caesar and Pompey where Caesar won, after much scare tactics and debate, dictator for life.     The senators did not like the idea of a dictator for life, they preferred the consul system of service of only two years, therefore they conspired to kill Caesar and they got his close friend Brutus to agree.  Once they got Caesar alone in the senate they ambushed him and they stabbed him, repeatedly, to death.  Even as he lay dying the famous lines of Shakespeare has Caesar saying, “Et tu Brute?” meaning “Even you Brutus?” 

The lines in Shakespeare shows that after you have achieved all you want through arrogance and hubris, that your closest friend will even turn on you and stab you in the back. 

I have always enjoyed studying the ancient world and Roman society is by far my favorite.  You add Shakespeare and it is a match made in heaven.  Yet these scenes are of particular importance to me because it is a warning to not have a large head.  That you have to be careful not to show hubris (Excessive Pride), and I try not to.

Yet in resent weeks the cautionary tale of Caesar being betrayed by his close friend rings true for me.  It means that an attack can come from anywhere.  I have been stabbed in the back on different occasions and Caesar’s surprise at Brutus was mine when I realized at who betrayed me.  I have learned my lessons yet it would seem that I have too many stab wounds from people who I thought where my friends or people I thought I could trust. 

In the end I cannot change who I am and I cannot not be friendly with people.  Yet this “ides of March” is a reminder why I befriend only a few people and be careful of others because …

 

I have the scares from daggers upon my back,

Every wound is a reminder that men and women are vicious creatures.

Yet I have survived to tell the tales,

For these injures only make me stronger.

Thus during this “ides of March” I resolve to remember,

That those men and women are cowards who attack from behind.

Only those who have the fortitude to face me are not foes but friends.

And I shall endeavor to make sure I never speak these words again.

“Et tu Brute?”

3 Responses to Friday Two Cents: Beware the Ides of March

  1. Pingback: It’s the Ides of March again (and again) | On (or close to) Schedule

  2. Pingback: Jacquel Rassenworth on March 15 | The Jacquel Rassenworth Blog

  3. Pingback: Friday Two Cents: Et Tu Brute? | Paul Gauchi

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Trombonist's Mouthpiece

Music, education, and philosophy

Paul Gauchi

My innermost thoughts I wish to share. These things Inspire me, maybe they will inspire you.

Lucia Lorenzi

the body politic: musings and meanderings

Eternal Atlantis

Official Website of Luciana Cavallaro

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Daniel is funny

Monsters, Jokes, Analogies

A Step onto the Road

The journeying of a literary hopeful

teachingontheverge

Emergent curriculum, play-based learning, and Arts education... go!

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

The First Gate

Stories, Dreams, Imagination, Soul

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Mama Cormier

.... my journey to a healthy life, making new memories and so much more

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

